Easy crier

I cry so easily. I blame the kids. Before I had them I was as hard as anyone else, but now I’m a soft, tearful mess at the slightest provocation! And usually, happy events will set me off more easily than sad ones (I’m a freak!). So, Chilean miners being reunited with their families – me crying. The Scottish performers looking so happy during the handover ceremony at the Commonwealth Games – me weeping. A happy outcome in a film – that’s right, more tears. Uplifting music – I’m gone. I can’t even talk sometimes!

We used to laugh at my mother in law when, on watching some young sportsperson doing well on the TV she would say “Imagine how happy his mother is!” rather than commenting on the actual person’s performance. Now I find myself doing that as often as not, imagining how it must feel to be a family member of almost anyone featured on the television. So I don’t laugh any more!

I’m glad that I’m empathetic (yea, I said EMpathetic, thankyouverymuch!). Empathy is a good thing, and I think goes hand in hand with tolerance and understanding, which are all virtues I prize. However, I do so wish that I could find the ‘off switch’ for my tear ducts, and keep the glistening eyes for genuine times of great emotion!

3 Responses

  1. Jen, maybe it’s the time of the year, I too find my self drying an eye, and find it hard to speak without getting all weepy during some melodramatic show. I try to look the other way but some times my wife catches my eye and I feel so foolish.
    I guess it’s not just a gal thing, guys get the blues too some times, Hope you had a good weekend. AJ

  2. I don’t have children of my own, but I’ve always been a softie for things like that! It sometimes can be embarrassing, but more often than not people tend to think it’s sweet… and I like being known as a softie. It’s better than being known as a jerk! πŸ™‚

  3. And…when you hit middle age the waterworks increase. Isn’t life grand? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

