Two gifts, finished and given

Yesterday we had a lovely time, watching the film ‘The Princess and the Frog’ and having dinner out with my friend Maria. I was able to give her the Shawl of Happiness and also the mystery extra gift, these Mrs Beetons Wristies;

I was so pleased with how these turned out. As you can see, I used the laceweight mohair for the outside frill, and then a cream yarn for the inside, beaded frill. The two yarns were held together to knit the cuff. These look lovely on, as they are worn with just the frills poking out of your coat sleeves, and look so pretty and feminine. Which is why I thought of Maria when I saw the pattern!

Secondly, last night I finished the jumper which I promised to my lovely eldest son such a long time ago. I gave it to him first thing this morning, and he immediately put it on and has worn it all day!

I wanted to decorate this jumper with something to distinguish it from the earlier effort, which turned out too small (and so was given to his brother!) so I chose this small TARDIS motif, as his Doctor Who obsession is widely known! I think it would have turned out better if the stitches had been tighter, but it does well enough for now. On the plus side, the jumper was immensely fast to knit up, so definitely a quick gratification project! And gratification for Handsome as well – I have a policy of not showing my childrens’ faces on my blog, but I had to include his big happy smile in this picture!

6 Responses

  1. I don’t think I’m quite up to knitting a sweater/jumper just yet. My son now has a different idea though, because he is in love with the idea of a Tardis sweater. πŸ™‚

    I love the Wristies too. They are so adorable!!!

  2. I want that sweater! It’s awesome! He’s one lucky little guy.

  3. Handsome does indeed have a lovely smile πŸ™‚ Am loving the TARDIS, no wonder he wore it all day!

  4. I WANT A JUMPER LIKE THAT! Maybe with a cake motif?

  5. Mr P, I’m sure you’d be able to manage a simple top-down raglan jumper with a tiny bit of colourwork on the front! I can just imagine you wearing it actually!

  6. They are fantastic. I love the tardis on the jumper.

Leave a Reply

