Another night at the theatre

Last night, my mother and I went to St David’s Hall to see Anton du Beke and Erin Boag in their new show, ‘Steppin’ Out’. And it was fabulous! We had left it a little late to book tickets, and so ended up sitting in the choir stalls behind the stage, but we enjoyed it enormously despite that! And in fact, I think we had better seats than the people who were sitting in the high tiers at the back of the hall.

Anton and Erin were dancing to swing music in the main, and were accompanied by four more fantastic dancers and singer Graham Bickley. There were some ‘talky’ bits in between times, including a Q and A session in the second half. I think my favourite dance was either the tango, the dance to the music from ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ or maybe ‘Let’s Face the Music and Dance’ which was right at the end of the show. I think to narrow it down to just three possible favourites is fairly impressive!

The two hours of the show was over before we knew it, it really did go amazingly fast! I think Mum and I could happily have sat through a show twice as long, although maybe Anton and Erin would have been a little tired after a show that length!

Well, if they bring another show back to Cardiff, Mum and I will definitely be in the audience…and we’ll make sure to buy tickets earlier next time. There’s a Strictly Come Dancing show in the spring which we’re considering, as well as a Latin show starring Darren Bennett and Lilia Kopylova at the end of June. Depending on my mother’s globe trotting, if we’re lucky perhaps we’ll manage to go to both!

One Response

  1. My favourite was “Moon River” partly because it reminded me of “Breakfast at Tiffanys”, but mostly for the beautiful dress worn by Erin. It was white with a border rond the hem of glittery silver and blue and had sheer sleeves sprinkled liberally with the same silver and blue and looked like stardust.

Leave a Reply

