No knitting today (but it was a good day despite that!)

I had a lovely day today, spending time in Cardiff with my friend Ellie, visiting bead and button shops and drinking huge amounts of hot chocolate! We went to the museum but unfortunately some of the exhibits were off limits, so we’re hoping to make a return visit at Easter when everything should be open to the public.

Unfortunately there were no pancakes in my Shrove Tuesday. Instead there was birthday cake – it was my sister in law’s birthday today, and I’m pleased to report that she loved her presents. From Handsome she had jelly babies and chocolate toffee eclairs, and from Cheeky she received this;

A bracelet and earrings set that he designed himself and partially made – I just helped with bending the pins into loops at the ends, but other than that it was all his work! Well done Cheeky!

6 Responses

  1. I can smell the coco from here. Could you explain the statement : There were no pancakes in my Shrove. What the heck is a Shrove? Damn Americans don’t know any thing. ,-)

  2. The statement was ‘there were no pancakes in my Shrove Tuesday‘ – Shrove Tuesday is also known as Mardi Gras or Pancake day, the day before Ash Wednesday. Christians traditionally would use up all their fats etc before starting the Lenten fast on Ash Wednesday. The hot chocolate was especially good as I’m planning to give up chocolate for Lent, so I really savoured it yesterday!
    Turning to Wikipedia for a good description;

    The word shrove is the past tense of the English verb shrive, which means to obtain absolution for one’s sins by way of confession and doing penance. During the week before Lent, sometimes called Shrovetide in English, Christians were expected to go to confession in preparation for the penitential season of turning to God. Shrove Tuesday was the last day before the beginning of Lent on Ash Wednesday, and noted in histories dating back to 1000 AD. The popular celebratory aspect of the day had developed long before the Protestant Reformation, and was associated with releasing high spirits before the somber season of Lent. It is analogous to the continuing Carnival tradition associated with Mardi Gras (and its various names in different countries) that continued separately in European Catholic countries.

    In the United States, the term Shrove Tuesday is less widely known outside of people who observe the liturgical traditions of the Episcopal, Lutheran, Methodist, and Roman Catholic Churches.[3][4] Because of the increase in many immigrant populations and traditions since the 19th century, and the rise of highly publicized festivals, Mardi Gras has become more familiar as the designation for that day.

    In the United Kingdom and many other countries, the day is often known as Pancake Day. Making and eating such foods was considered a last feast with ingredients such as sugar, fat and eggs, whose consumption was traditionally restricted during the ritual fasting associated with Lent.

    Goodness – what would we do without Wikipedia for quick descriptions of stuff?! I hope I didn’t bore you too much – Pancake Day is really well observed over here, and I had big plans for pancakes with Nutella and coconut flakes and ice cream, as well as the traditional sugar and lemon juice, but I was denied!! I’ll have to have a substitute pancake day after Easter, when I can eat chocolate again!

  3. I’ve just thought, is Nutella well known over there? I know it’s sold in America, and I’ve found a link to a competition to win a case of it – http://www.nutellausa.com/giveaway.htm – it would so be worth it!

  4. Well done Cheeky on the bracelet and earrings!

  5. Jennie, Thanks for the tudor on Shrove Tuesday. Not bored at all with the explanation.
    I have never heard of the term used in Colorado.

    I have had Nutella, never on pancakes though, usually on toast. I might be a rarity; I’ve even had vegemite, Love the stuff.
    Talk to you later.

  6. @BMS – I’ll pass on your congratulations!

    @AJ – I think it’s more of an English term. And we love marmite in this house (apart from the husband, but he doesn’t count!). I think marmite and vegemite are very similar? In fact, we had cheese and marmite sandwiches for lunch – most yummy!

Leave a Reply

