Toad in the Hole

One of our favourite meals as a family is toad in the hole (is this something that you have in other countries? Maybe by another name? Or is it only in the UK?). For those of you not in the know, a traditional toad in the hole is sausages baked in a giant yorkshire pudding (batter). My boys are like many other children in that they love sausages, which is why this is always such a favourite. I try to make it a bit different though by adding in roasted vegetables. Often this is only onion, but you could add pepper (capsicum), carrots, etc.

I thought I’d share the recipe with you. It’s a nice easy recipe for a family evening meal.

Pre-cook the sausages. I grill mine, piercing the skins so that excess fat drains out. Once cooked, let them rest for a little while until it is easy to slice them without them falling apart. I chop the sausages into three or four chunks.

  • Heat the oven to 220 degrees C. Put a large oven dish in the heating oven with a tablespoon of vegetable oil to heat up.
  • Once the oven is heated, put in the vegetables and roast them for fifteen minutes. As soon as the vegetables have gone in the oven, prepare the batter so that it has time to rest before being added to the mix.

Batter:   4oz/125g/4 slightly heaped tablespoons self raising flour, 3 medium eggs, half a pint/approx 200ml milk. Put the flour in a mixing bowl and make a well in the centre. Break the eggs into a separate bowl, whisk lightly so that the yolks and whites are combined and then add to the bowl with flour. Add a little of the milk and mix this together with a fork. Add a little more of the milk until it’s not a sticky goo. When you don’t think it will get clogged up, switch to a whisk. Add milk until you get a batter the consistency of pouring cream. You might not need all the measured milk, or you might need a little more. Trust your instincts! You can season with a little black pepper and possibly a couple of pinches of dried herbs.

  • After the fifteen minutes of vegetable roasting, put the chopped sausages in the dish and pour the batter all over the meat and veggies. Pop it back in the oven for twenty to twenty five minutes. It will be puffed up and golden brown when it’s done.
  • Serve with gravy (essential!) and some green vegetables like peas, runner beans or broccoli. Watch how fast it vanishes!

This feeds the four of us comfortably. It should be pointed out that my children have extremely healthy appetites, so maybe it would be enough for more people if they didn’t eat such huge amounts!

6 Responses

  1. Ha, I have not heard that name before, but the meals sounds great.

  2. That sounds yummy. I have tried it a couple of times before, but I don’t think I let the oil heat up enough. How many sausages do you use? (we’ve all got healthy appetites too 🙂 )

  3. @slamdunk – you should try it, it’s really tasty!

    @WPT – I generally use a pound/500g of sausages for the four of us. In the supermarket, that’s 8 thick sausages. In the butcher, or with home made sausages it is generally five or six sausages. Let the oil be boiling hot – that’s why I put the dish wiith the oil in the oven as soon as I switch the heat on. It takes our oven 10-15 minutes to heat up, which I’ve found is plenty of time. The kids always ask for seconds, which is good in that they obviously like it but bad in that there’s never any left!

  4. Oooh that sounds interesting. I’d heard of toad in the hole but thought it was egg cooked inside a slice of bread.

    This sounds much more appealing and I will have to give it a go…. might wait until it is a bit cooler though, we are on our 4th day straight of mid 30C temps and it is not oven using weather at all.

  5. I’m cooking this *right* now, it is in the oven as I type.

  6. […] 25, 2010 · Leave a Comment After reading Jenny’s delicious sounding recipe for Toad in the Hole I decided to give it a go myself, this is one British delicacy I had never tried and I was very […]

Leave a Reply

