Small steps to home grown produce

I’ve taken the first small steps towards starting to use my allotment today. I’ve bought a hoe, a pair of gardening gloves and some bulbs of garlic to plant! I also made a list of what I want to grow, and got it into some sort of plan so that I know which ones need to be planted first.

This month I need to clear the weeds that have accumulated since the last occupier used the plot last year, prune the gooseberry bushes, mark the sections of the plot so that I remember whiat goes where, apply for permission to put up a shed, lay some paving stones at one end, get a compost bin, plant garlic, plant rhubarb and order seed potatoes, fruit canes and asparagus crowns to plant in the coming weeks. Not much happening, really!

3 Responses

  1. We have another large snow storm heading our way so I won’t be doing any garden prep for a while. Dang it all. I can’t wait for Spring to get here so I can get out into my gardens. Have fun working in your allotment!

  2. I’m still very excited for you about the allotment and looking forward to reading about everything you do.

  3. Remember you can get compost bins cheap from the Council, think it was either £5 or £10, lots cheaper than they are in the shops anyways. You just need to take something with your address on http://cardiff.gov.uk/content.asp?nav=2870%2C4049%2C5290%2C5334&parent_directory_id=2865 Just read they do wormeries too, that could be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

