Avatar

GG and I went to see ‘Avatar’ this evening in the cinema in Cardiff Bay. He’s been wanting to see it for some time so, thanks to the excellent babysitting skills of my friend Maria, I was able to offer to go with him.

There are many reviews of the film out there for you to read, so I’m not going to even try and write one here! Suffice it to say, I thought I’d made a terrible mistake for the first part of the film as it began in a very militaristic and combative way without really letting me make any connection with the characters. However, the plot warmed up after a little while, and once I began to feel some empathy with some of the people on screen, I enjoyed it much more. It was a good two and a bit hours into the film before I felt the need to look at my watch overwhelm me, and that’s the yardstick I generally use to determine how much I enjoy a film!

I’m glad I saw it, and glad that it was in the cinema (so I got to wear the really sexy huge 3D glasses!) but on the whole I don’t think I’ll be buying the DVD.

Leave a Reply

