Gloves are done!

Thanks to a Cardiff Knitters meeting last night and lots of hot chocolate, I managed to stay focussed long enough to finish Handsome’s Gryffindor Gloves. He very proudly and happily wore them to school this morning. I just hope that the cheap acrylic yarn (remember, using yarn from my stash rather than buying new!) will keep his little hands warm enough. They certainly inspired him to fly on his broomstick most of the way to school, so I must have done something right!

And while I was at the meeting, I got bored by knitting so I switched to crochet for a while and made this;

You can see how small it is when you look at the size of the pins which I’m using to block it. (Blocking is the process by which you get lacey items to achieve the shape you want after you’ve made them. I used spray starch on this ornament so that, once it has dried, it should stay fairly firm unless it gets damp again.) I love these little lace projects – they fulfil my instant gratification thing, and are pretty to look at! Plus, this is item nunber one done for Christmas 2010!

2 Responses

  1. Hurrah! how fab they both look!!!

  2. They are awesome gloves. What a lucky boy he is πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

