Another wintry walk!

We made the most of the sunny day and went down to the local lake again today. It was much harder to stay upright today, since lots of the snow on the pavements has now turned to ice. I felt exhausted by the time we got home just from the sheer effort of staying on my feet! I’ve got a couple more pictures to share with you before my fingers actually turn to icicles and snap right off!

These frost flowers were on one of my car windows.

The lake was still frozen solid, so the birds were all very glad of any food thrown to them. We chose to throw our bread to the smaller birds in the trees and bushes at the side of the lake, as I expect they don’t get so much attention. Plus, I’m hoping that my robin friend (the one in my header) will have found some of it!

If you want to do a full circuit of the lake, you have no option but to cross this footbridge. Now, it worries some people enough on fine days, given that there’s no handrail. So you can imagine that today, we crossed it very gingerly indeed! I love the shape of the bridge. So much more interesting than a straight bridge!

4 Responses

  1. Oh wow.. I’ve never seen frost flowers before.. I just swept the ‘white stuff’ off the windscreen.. I hope it snows again and maybe I’ll get to see them in real life.. so pretty!

  2. gerat to see some other frozen lake and snowy posts. I just put my pictures up too!

  3. I just love taking the snowy pictures – I think it’s because it’s a complete change of view from normal!

  4. Perhaps you’ll get to see some after tomorrow night and all the snow?!

Leave a Reply

