An evening at the theatre

So, last night I went to the Wales Millennium Centre to see the 25th Anniversary Production of ‘Les Miserables’. My ticket was my Christmas present from Maria. I didn’t know a lot about the show before I went, the bare bones of the story and the more recogniseable of the songs was as far as I went, so I really didn’t have much of a clue what to expect. And it was fabulous! It was a new production, so apparently different in some aspects to the famous London production which Maria had already seen. This new production is by Cameron Mackintosh. There were some very clever uses of the screen at the back of the stage to portray movement of the characters from one place to another. At times it was almost like watching a film rather than being in a theatre.

The actors were all brilliant. The only name I recognised was Gareth Gates, who played Marius (although that was probably more due to the lack of big productions I’ve seen than to anything else). In the eight years since I saw Gareth Gates on Pop Idol, his voice has really matured and was lovely to listen to. But then, so were all of the performers. There truly wasn’t one weak one in the whole cast. Jean Valjean was brilliant, the three main females were fabulous, the three children were excellent, it was tremendous casting.

There was audible sobbing at the end of the performance (unfortunately I must have a heart of stone as I didn’t succumb!) and the applause at the end was both long and loud. I couldn’t clap for very long because of my stupid hands, but I was applauding wildly in my head!

2 Responses

  1. What a fantastic present! And yes, you must have a heart of stone :p

  2. What a great gift.

    Some years ago I was on a longish train journey sat opposite a young man with his foot in plaster. After striking up a conversation, I learnt that he had broken his ankle on stage …. he was one of the cast (get it?) of Les Miserables …. hmmm…

    Off on a tangent as usual.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

