Organisation for the New Year!

So, if you saw yesterday’s post, you’ll know that I managed quite a lot of crafty production last year. I would really like to get near the same amount this year, as I really enjoy all my various crafts, and I had a great sense of satisfaction at being able to present those I like best with hand made Christmas gifts. But, in order to achieve it, I will have to be organised.

On Ravelry, I’m in a few groups, including the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup (I’m a Gryffindor!). Assignments are set for the various classes each month, and completed projects win points for your house, towards the goal of winning the house cup. And one of January’s assigments was pure genius. On Ravelry, there is a queuing facility where you can queue all the patterns that you’d like to do. I’ve half-heartedly used it before, but now, thanks to an assignment which demanded the queue organised, catalogued, tagged and in a working order, I’m set up with at least enough projects for a few months! Of course, it’s a work in progress and I dare say I’ll add more as I think of more to make, but it’s certainly made a good start on my goal of 2010 being a more organised year (notice I said goal, not resolution. The R word generally tends to be counter productive for me, so I’m ignoring it for this year. I figure that if you don’t meet a goal, it doesn’t sound as harsh as if you break a resolution!).

In the next couple of days I will have my first couple of completed projects of the year, which I will be sure to show you as and when they are achieved. But for now, I’d like to reiterate that I wish you all a very happy new year for 2010 full of lots of good things. I hope that this time next year you can all look back and have good memories of the year just ended.

2 Responses

  1. Oh, to be organized!
    I hope to complete 4 books this year. One of which is a co-authorship project. That one will be complete surprise for my agent. (Who is also the other author’s agent.) So far, one book is very nearly complete, and the other three are in various stages…

    BTW, I use the bookmark and lanyard you sent all the time. 😀

  2. I’m so glad that you like them and they’re used! I was really touched by how well received the Christmas presents were. Quite often I encounter people who don’t appreciate handmade items at all, and so I was a bit (OK, a lot!) apprehensive about whether people would like their presents or whether they would view them as a cheap option rather than having something bought from a shop. But luckily everyone was lovely and very appreciative, so I’m already thinking about next year!

Leave a Reply

