Quiet time

So, I’ve been somewhat absent from the blog for the last month or more. Initially, it was due to a distinct bloggy block, preventing the flow of inspiration from my brain through my fingers and onto the keyboard. More recently, however, my blog silence has been attributable to my need to keep secrets about Christmas presents in the making. So, like KateOhKatie‘s recent post, my only possible blog posts would be lists of censored names and presents!

I can tell you that I have a list by my side of all the things I hope to make. The most difficult one is done, as of this morning. And that’s all I can tell you about that one until January! I have a list of thirty presents to make in all (it sounds scarier than it is!). Of those, I’ve already done ten, with three in progress. Of the things left to do, only three are likely to take more than a day or so to make, and some of the gifts will be made in groups, so I’ll be able to do a few at a time if I set aside an afternoon. I also hope to make some Christmas cards again, but I think I’ll see how I’m getting on with my crafting over the next couple of weeks first!

I wish I could tell you more about the biggest (as in time wise) thing I’ve just finished, as I’m really proud of myself for having got through it! Needless to say, I will take lots of pictures and tell you all about it in January!

Anyway, my washing machine is beeping and demanding attention, so I must go and see to that. Then, at 1pm I will have my lunch hour (why shouldn’t I have a structured lunch hour if I’m a stay at home mum?), eat a sandwich, watch ‘Bones’ and do a bit more work on a Christmas present! Oh, and pray that the rain holds off until after I’ve collected the boys from school.

4 Responses

  1. Aww thank you for linking to me!

    It’s so frustrating, knitting cool stuff but not being “allowed” to blog about it, isn’t it?

  2. Tell me about it! It’s hard enough trying to remember which person I can tell about which item when I see people face to face, without this restriction on what I can write about as well! I would say that I’m looking forward to January, but I’ve got a fair few presents left to make before I can wish time away!

    Good luck with your list!

  3. Hopefully you can blog after Christmas about what you have been busy working on 🙂

    Did you remember this Christmas gift you blogged about
    https://jenniepowell.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/a-christmas-present-in-waiting/

  4. @ Leechbabe – I didn’t remember, and I felt very silly when I was in a fair trade shop the other day and saw some for sale there! However, the intended recipients (my sister in law and her partner) have asked Handsome to hand paint some tumblers for them for their gift, so it wouldn’t have been the best idea to buy them more glasses in the end.

    I’m taking photos of all my finished projects, so I think I’d probably be able to post daily with just those through January!

Leave a Reply

