Knitting kills…

…well, I think my current project might. I can’t discuss it too much because it’s going to be a present, but I’ve been working on it for more than a month now and I am firmly convinced that I’ve found out how I’m going to die. And if it doesn’t kill me, I will die with it grasped in my hands.

It seemed such a good project when I considered the pattern, but it’s taking FOREVER, and I don’t seem to be making a lot of progress! At least I like the colour!

I’m a typical Gemini, loving to flit from one thing to another, like a butterfly, and this project is severely holding my butterfly tendencies back. I’ve got a lost as long as your arm on Ravelry of projects that I want to get my needles or hooks into, and I just have to finish this one first. I think I’m about 40% there. I’ll take it to knitting club tonight, and maybe I’ll get a chunk done. If I do, I’ll come and tell you all about it tomorrow. I’m aiming to finish it by the end of the month. A tad overambitious, I think! But I need a target. And it’s coming almost everywhere with me. It even came to Southerndown on Tuesday! Work yesterday and today, and Stitch and Bitch (obviously) tonight.

Pray for me. Quite seriously, I need to find hitherto untapped sources of patience and stamina, and I can’t do it alone!

5 Responses

  1. lol that sounds like me!

  2. Good luck! Sounds like me when it comes to learning songs.

  3. Nooo! Don’t let it kill! Although I must admit that I am the same way when it comes to knitting projects. I have Knitter ADD.

  4. I’m grimly determined to knit a further 22 rows by tomorrow night, and I think I’ll need some rousing movie musicals on the TV to keep me going! I shall count how many rows I can knit whilst watching ‘Hairspray’. I can feel that this may be the way forward! Kinda like an anaesthetic, or at least an opiate to numb the pain of the frustration and lack of patience!

  5. Yes! Movies (especially musical ones) have gotten me through several uncomfortable projects…

Leave a Reply

