Maria, or Margo?

MariaThis is my best friend, Maria. She cooked me a sumptuous roast pork dinner yesterday evening, complete with home made cider gravy.

She also cooked the whole dinner wearing this very lovely cream patterned dress and kitten heeled sandals, no apron, and didn’t get a mark on her. As her mother said to me later on (and it applies to me too), if she had set out to cook a family roast dinner wearing something like that, she would have been head to foot gravy and flour by the end of the evening! I had to take this photo of her cutting up a pineapple, purely because I was so amazed at her pristine state after all that cooking. I was perched on a stool in her kitchen, watching her work, wishing that I wasn’t so clumsy as to have to carry a teatowel around (if I’m not wearing an apron) to clear up my messes as I go.

But this is very ‘Maria’. She is always beautifully turned out, taking the time to co-ordinate accessories with outfits. She would never be caught rushing to the supermarket for some deperately-needed-but-forgotten item wearing trackie bottoms and an old university t-shirt (I actually can’t remember the last time I saw her in a t-shirt!). When we go away on our jaunts every other year, she definitely makes me pick up my game when it comes to self-presentation, ensuring that I at least remember to pack make-up, something nice to wear in the evenings and a choice of handbags!

She is learning the violin at the moment, and having lessons with my dad. They always remark on how nicely presented she is when she visits their house.

We make fun of her a bit about the time it takes her to get ready to go anywhere, and the fact that she’s always immaculate, but I think most of it is probably just envy! She has a definite eye for what outfits will work for her (not harmed, probably, by her enviable figure!) and looks equally good in a dress bought in Coast or Tesco!

Added to this, she has a fabulous sense of humour, is generous to a fault and, it turns out, can cook really well. What more can you ask of a best friend! This winter will mark ten years of our being friends, and I only hope that we’ll still be close friends in another fifty. If we are, I just know that I’ll be thinking of her as the best dressed pensioner this side of Milan!

Maria has been compared to Margo Leadbetter from 1970's sitcom, "The Good Life" more than once. Margo, on the right of the picture, was known for being immaculately turned out, with outfits for every occasion!

Maria has been compared to Margo Leadbetter from 1970's sitcom, "The Good Life", more than once. Margo, on the right of the picture, was known for being immaculately turned out, with outfits for every occasion!

3 Responses

  1. What a gem of a best friend!

  2. Wow, every time I wear anything light colored when I cook I invariably spill something on it, usually tomato based or greasy.

  3. You and I know her so well. Together we are making her into a domestic goddess! She has other talents though, as well as cooking without getting a spot of dirt on her…she also has the ability to use every single bowl, cup, dish, pan and cooking utensil in the kitchen! Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

