The Science of Happiness?

I think that we’d all like to think that we would be at least as happy, if not happier, in the future in our personal lives. Happiness is contagious, to an extent; I know that when I’m happy, there’s much more chance of my children being happier and more contented. When I’m happy, the day to day operation of my house runs more smoothly and so my husband is happier. Do you see what I mean?

My father sent me a link today to an experiment taking place all this week at a website called The Science of Happiness, in which we are encouraged to take part in a one minute positive affirmation or happiness creating exercise. The theory is that, if enough of us take part, the happiness will spread around the world! Apparently a poll has been commissioned in the UK at the start and end of the week, in order to determine whether the experiment works, in this country at least.  

I am working my way through the website as I’m writing this post, so that I can accurately describe what it is that I am asked to do.

First, I have to fill in a short questionnaire, before receiving my happiness-boosting tip! It’s a set of multiple choice questions, so shouldn’t take too long.

Well, that really didn’t! I filled in the questionnaire, watched the video and submitted my answers, all in under two minutes. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to divulge my daily (very) short activity to you. Perhaps you’d better go and try it for yourself. The URL is http://www.scienceofhappiness.co.uk. It’s free to participate, can’t think of any harm it could do to you, and it may even help you to be happier! If you give it a go, let me know by commenting (and remember that all comments received until my 70,000th visitor will be entered in my celebratory giveaway later this month). Oh, the only thing I forgot is that they’re going to e-mail me with an end of the week questionnaire to se, I assume, whether I’m any happier!

Well, I’m off to think happy thoughts now. Have a happy day!

3 Responses

  1. 1That Special song for you

    Hello….. ( Lionel Richie)

    I’ve been alone with you inside my mind
    And in my dreams I’ve kissed your lips a thousand times
    I sometimes see you pass outside my door
    Hello, is it me you’re looking for?

    I can see it in your eyes
    I can see it in your smile
    You’re all I’ve ever wanted, (and) my arms are open wide
    ‘Cause you know just what to say
    And you know just what to do
    And I want to tell you so much, I love you …

    I long to see the sunlight in your hair
    And tell you time and time again how much I care
    Sometimes I feel my heart will overflow
    Hello, I’ve just got to let you know

    ‘Cause I wonder where you are
    And I wonder what you do
    Are you somewhere feeling lonely, or is someone loving you?
    Tell me how to win your heart
    For I haven’t got a clue
    But let me start by saying, I love you …

    Hello, is it me you’re looking for?
    ‘Cause I wonder where you are
    And I wonder what you do
    Are you somewhere feeling lonely or is someone loving you?
    Tell me how to win your heart
    For I haven’t got a clue
    But let me start by saying … I love you

    Are you like…?.Thanks

  2. Now, is this comment someone taking part in the experiment and trying to send a little happiness my way, or is it spam? Can’t decide, and therefore don’t know whether to say thanks or to delete the comment. Any advice, please?!

  3. possible spam as it links to a radio streaming thing. But if it made you happy then it doesn’t matter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

