Fascinating!

I’ve been invited to a garden party in just under two weeks. Well, I was invited a while ago, but I’ve just remembered that it’s less than two weeks away, and I have a problem.

The party is being hosted by a local knitter as a lovely social event for local knitters to get together and have a lovely afternoon, but as we are mainly crafty people who are attending, we are asked to create a hand-made item to wear. And, as (hopefully) it is likely to be fairly warm, we don’t want to all be turning up in sweaters, so it has been suggested that we should create fascinators for ourselves.

I didn’t even know what a fascinator was when I first heard about it, but I have since discovered (thank you, Google!) that it is a thing worn on the head in the place of a hat (you know, like those funny feathery things that some women wear to weddings).

And so, to my drawing board, forthwith. First, I need to decide which dress I will wear, so that I can colour-coordinate! And then I need to think about fascinators which I can create using yarn and hooks and knitting needles.

I honestly don’t have the first idea where to begin!

2 Responses

  1. have you looked on ravelry? there are some patterns on there that you may be able to use

  2. Good luck! i didn’t know what fascinators were, either!

Leave a Reply

