Self conscious child

At what age do children generally care about their appearance? Cheeky (aged 5) this evening asked if I would cut his hair tomorrow. I asked him why, as it doesn’t look too bad to me, and he replied by grabbing hold of a little bit of his fringe, tugging it and saying, “but just LOOK at it!” as if it should be immediately obvious!

Bless him. If I can just get him away from the 80’s chic which seems to be his main fashion influence for clothes at the moment, I might just manage to raise one stylish child!

2 Responses

  1. He’s been hanging around his aunt B for too long!

  2. Age 5? I know a three year old girl who is conscious about her appearance… she likes shoes. Shiny ones.

Leave a Reply

