Not bad, for an eight year old!

Tonight, GG and I had a night off from cooking – our older son, Handsome, has decided that he wants to learn to cook during the summer holidays and likes to start sooner rather than later once he has an idea. So, this evening, he cooked (for the whole family) baked fish (river cobbler), boiled new potatoes and also prepared a salad from scratch. It was really nice! I’m not the biggest fan of fish, so I had some Levi Roots Reggae Reggae sauce on the side, which camouflaged the flavour sufficiently!

Tomorrow, apparently he’s making a carbonara pasta dish, and then on Monday he’s thinking about a beef stew in the crockpot. Not bad for eight years old! Maybe the summer holidays won’t be such a trial, after all!

7 Responses

  1. oooh you have a regular cook! How cool is that.

    My kids are not yet ready for fish. They seem to totally stuff it up everytime they’ve tried and with it so expensive (here) I prefer to be the one to do it.

    Well done on your boy!! Hope this is the start of a lovely tradition in your family.

  2. Amen! It’s all a process. I had my boys start with their school lunches (I just got so sick of making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches), and then had them move on to making pasta sauce. Last week, Number One Son tried to make mac and cheese from a recipe and burned the sauce and over cooked the pasta. Oh well…he tried.

  3. Well done Handsome! Anytime he wants to practice on anyone else, he’s more than welcome to come here.

  4. Fish is quite expensive here too, which is why I bought the Tesco Value (budget line) fish, which was river cobbler. I’ve never heard of river cobbler before, but it was white, which in my mind means it must be like cod! I’m so not a fish lover, which is why I was more than happy for Handsome to cook it instead! He’s been doing the packed lunches for a while now, as apparently he and his brother think that jam sandwiches are the biggest treat imaginable! He seems really keen to learn, so I plan to capitalise on it while the enthusiasm’s there.

  5. That is awesome. Well done Handsome.

  6. That’s pretty cool. I wish I knew how to cook… and actually had an interest in cooking stuff other than omelets.

  7. Ah, that’s why you said you’d eaten fish… I was wondering what the motivation was!

    If his cooking is anything like his Mum’s, you’re on to a good thing there.

    So, when’s he starting on cakes….?!?!?!

Leave a comment