And yet again – inconsiderate neighbours

So, I guess that my pessimistic assessment of my upstairs neighbours’ consideration of our feelings was about right. Last night, they invited another group of friends around and had another all-nighter, including an impromptu karaoke session at gone midnight. I managed to sleep, on and off, from about 1am on, but GG and I both woke up at intervals and this morning were able to tell each other that they were still going at 5.30 and 6.30am. Handsome (eldest son) was woken at “three minutes after quarter past two” (he’s very exact with the time!) by the shouting and music.

I think I’m past anger now. I also think that I’m resigning myself to sleep deprivation in a way that has been unnecessary since Cheeky started sleeping through the night. This in itself is competely unacceptable. Why should I (and my family) have to put up with this?

Anyway, changing the subject, I woke up (most recently) at about 8.30 this morning, and at 9am felt the strongest urge to practise Handsome’s violin (I like to be able to pick out tunes on any instrument). Then I did a bit of music making on the recorder, followed by a short burst of spontaneous singing of “I could have danced all night” from “My Fair Lady”. Then I had a quiet half hour, since when I’ve been listening (and singing along – I was a soprano in the university choir) to Verdi’s Requiem – a very loud, stirring piece of music! I do hope that none of my (upstairs) neighbours were trying to sleep, especially if they were worn out with partying all night, as I imagine that could have made it a little difficult ;-).

5 Responses

  1. Is there a management company for your flats?

  2. I like the way you work 😀

  3. We all own our flats, and jointly own the freehold so we are all shareholders in the company that runs the flats. There are things in the process of being done by both the company and the managing agents that we employ. Hopefully these will have some effect. I’m really hoping that they’re just too stupid and inconsiderate to realise the effect of their behaviour on others. If they know and genuinely don’t care, that could make it a little harder to persuade them to stop.

  4. Unbelievable! Do you want me to make recordings of the pigs shrieking so you can play it back to them? Or I could come round and join in the singing?!!

  5. The sad part is they were probably so incapacitated they could not hear. But the effort is wonderful!! I’d have done something similar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

