Slim for Sorrento

I’m a lucky girl this year. In September I’m off on another holiday, this time with my best friend Maria. In order to celebrate our 22nd birthdays* we’re going back to Sorrento in Italy. We had a holiday there a few years ago to celebrate our 21st birthdays and so thought it only fitting that we should return to mark the latest milestone. (I have some photos of that to share with you, but I can’t find the lead to connect my camera to the computer, and GG’s asleep so I can’t use the scanner, so you’ll have to wait for them!)

However, last time we went was pre-motherhood and I was a good two stone lighter. So I’ve decided that I’ll try to lose 1.5 stone by the time we go away, or half a stone each month. My aim is to reach this target by the end of August so that any holiday clothes shopping can be done in the early part of September, before I go away.

What I really need to focus on though is my exercise. I’m fully aware of what I should be eating, thanks to the Rosemary Conley GI diet which has been my diet of choice over the past few years (it does work when I have the willpower to stick to it!). Rosemary Conley also writes a blog which helps me with the motivation, and each evening she tweets a short fitness challenge to keep you on your toes. Last night we had to go up and down stairs four times consecutively and then do ten press ups. Well, this inspired me to move to I slotted a half hour power walk in the middle of it. I tweeted this when I got home, and had a direct message reply from Rosemary telling me well done. What a motivator!

I wrote the rough draft of this post on the way to work, and there was a little girl on the bus with her mother, around a year old, screaming her head off. I well remember the embarrassment of that situation and the feeling of helplessness when there’s nothing you can do to calm your child, as well as the feeling of being trapped inside the bus with thirty pairs of hostile eyes burning holes in your back! I don’t miss that part of my childrens’ babyhood at all! Situations like that were definitely the sort that would send me to eat to comfort myself. I still comfort eat a lot, mostly when noone is watching, but I recognise that I do it now, and a lot of the time I can stop myself by trying to work out why exactly I want to eat. I don’t always manage to talk myself out of it, but I’m definitely improving! On the way home this afternoon, there was another baby girl on the bus with the most infectious chuckle. I got off the bus feeling happy myself after listening to her contented giggles for twenty minutes!

Anyway, so far I’m 4lbs down and 17lbs to go, so any words of inspiration are welcome! I just hope that noone gives me anything edible for my birthday. That would definitely slow me down. I’ve not yet grasped the concept of ‘everything in moderation’.

 

 

*22 years and 96 months, if you’re being picky

4 Responses

  1. Yes, yes I am picky! 😀

  2. If only there was a way to trade. You know, you lose a pound for every pound I gain.

  3. Good luck!

  4. I hope all goes well … don’t enter any blog giveaways involving Green and Black chocolate!

    Just back from my hols and catching up …. s – l – o – w – l – y

Leave a Reply

