Dandelion Jam

First of all, I’m amazed by the wonderful response to my giveaway! There have been forty five entrants so far, with many kind enough to either publish a blog post or advertise it on Twitter. If you haven’t entered yet, you have until Saturday night, British Summer Time when the giveaway will end.

Next up, my latest experiment. Yup, the title of the blog post gives a fairly strong clue – I’ve been making dandelion jam! I’d never heard of this until earlier in the week when Annie at “A Year In The Life Of”… mentioned it. I googled it, to double check that it was a real thing (sorry, I’m very cynical sometimes!) and found lots of information and recipes.

So, I picked 350 dandelions, plucked the petals and used them to make my preserve.

petals

First I boiled them, then let them steep overnight, then removed the petals, added sugar and lemon juice and boiled again until it reached setting point.

jam jar

And here is the finished product! I was surprised by how lovely this tastes. It’s sort of like honey and lemon, made into jam. I’m surprised just because I’d never heard of it, and given how delicious it is, and how cheap and easy it is to make, I would have thought that more people would have been making it!

So far, everyone I’ve given it to has enjoyed it, and at a cost of only £1.30 for five and a half jars, I’ll definitely be making this again.

7 Responses

  1. Oh, I’ve been thinking about making this and you make it sound so nice! I wonder when it stop raining long enough for me to go and pick dandelions though….

  2. People love free stuff. I have a friend who offers giveaways regularly on her blog, and she always has more people posting on the giveaways than on her regular postings…
    The dandelion jam seems to have turned out really well! Right now here in US it’s dandelion season… so many dandelions!!!

  3. Rebecca, I can confirm it was most yummy. As soon as it stops raining, go pick your dandelions!

  4. It’s going out of the jars extremely quickly, and so I think I need to pick more dandelions before they’ve all passed! My children today asked for jam sandwiches for lunch for the first time EVER, which I think is a good testament!

  5. I now feel obsessed with the concept of wanting to make dandelion jam! Though the idea of 350 dandelions….wowza.

  6. can the green leaves of dandelion be used in the making of jam

  7. No, as far as I know, the leaves and green parts of the dandelions would just make the jam bitter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

