Tired but happy!

Today has been a stunning day. I’m hoping that this won’t, like last year, be the only bit of summer that we have!

I’ve been blessed today in that I’ve been able to spend the day in the open air, as I’ve been at the farm all day with Jo. It has been a busy day, but I think I can say that we will both sleep the sleep of the righteous tonight, having had a very productive day.

Five minutes break!

Five minutes break!

We have moved two pig arks, and their corresponding inhabitants, to new enclosures with fresh grazing and rootling options. This might not sound a lot to the uninitiated, but when you consider that the pig arks are made of solid wood and corrugated metal you can imagine how heavy they are. Also, the ground over which they were moved was uneven (at best) which made the going a little harder. And finally, brambles are no friend to the electric netting which is used to contain the pigs to their pastures. So Jo had some chopping to do before the fence could be placed.

Fergie, after a failed bid for freedom!

Fergie, after a failed bid for freedom!

All in all, it was a busy and fulfilling day, made much more enjoyable by the glorious, warm sunshine. Trust me, moving pig arks is not a job you want to do in the rain!

3 Responses

  1. I wish you had been able to capture the noise Fergie was subjecting my ear drums to!

  2. Yeah, I think that was one of the (many) reasons I failed to catch her myself – she startled me every time with the volume!

  3. […] so I won’t bore you with the details, except to say a big THANK YOU to Jennie for helping me move everything, especially as it seems she might be allergic to something at the farm! Oh dear, hope it’s […]

Leave a Reply

