Quick question…

…do any of you think that I could be allergic to chickens or pigs?

I’ve been having various blood tests recently, which show that I’m allergic to something, but the doctor can’t put her finger on what. Jo said that I should ask whether it could be pigs or chickens, given that I frequently cuddle members of both species when I spend time at the farm. I didn’t really think anything of it, until this evening when I’ve got a really runny nose (sorry if that’s too much information!), a sinusy type headache (seems to be focussed on the front of my forehead and behind my nose) and a general feeling that something’s not quite right. Or am I being over-sensitive to my symptoms, and just tired from a busy day, headachey after unaccustomed time in the sunshine (I did have a headscarf protecting my head from the worst of the sun) and sniffly after moving the straw from pig ark to pig ark?

Any answers/advice?

Cheers!

5 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of anyone allergic to chicken or pig… but you never know. Have you had the symptoms before when you were cuddling them?

  2. Not noticeably whilst I was cuddling them, but I’ve had what the doctor has called ‘allergic rhinitis’ for some time, and I was wondering whether it could be linked at all.

  3. I’m not sure then. Are you taking any allergy meds? I hope you find out what it is. I know around this time I always get awful allergies.

  4. I don’t think it’s the pigs or chickens so much as the dusty straw – you did say it had gone up your nose…

  5. […] say a big THANK YOU to Jennie for helping me move everything, especially as it seems she might be allergic to something at the farm! Oh dear, hope it’s not Fergie! (Seriously, I think it’s the dust in the […]

Leave a Reply

