The things they say!

I am constantly amazed by how observant my children are. It is regularly noted that the brains of children are like sponges for absorbing information, and I would be one of the first to testify to that!

My children love the film, ‘Mamma Mia’ and have both learned the lyrics to many Abba songs as a result. Rarely does a day go by without hearing one of them wandering around the house singing along to ‘Money Money Money’, ‘S.O.S.’ et al. So I suppose that it was only a matter of time before they started quoting from the spoken words in the film.

There are a few instances of (quite mild) bad language in the film, which doesn’t bother me because my children are aware of what they are not supposed to repeat. However, it is quite something when you discover that your four year old has mastered the art of paraphrasing at such a young age! He was verbally sparring with his Auntie B recently, and, intent on having the last word, leaned round the door on his way to bed and called her “a reckless little (slight pause for thought)…something!” We thought nothing of it, other than being slightly impressed that he knew the word reckless, even if he was unaware of its meaning. Then, my friend Maria came for tea and I was telling her about this. She asked Cheeky where he had heard ‘reckless’, and Handsome piped up “from Donna”. I got confused, and thought he was referring to Catherine Tate’s character in ‘Doctor Who’. Cheeky put me right though, and clarified that he meant Donna in ‘Mamma Mia’. That’s when the recollection hit me like a sack of potatoes. Now I remembered the quote, and was extremely glad that he had been able to substitute words as necessary. Otherwise, had Cheeky quoted Meryl Streep verbatim, he would have called his Auntie B ‘a reckless little slut’!

Hmm. Now, should I be glad that he has such an (obviously) excellent memory; worried at the parts of dialogue that he chooses to pick out, mull over and retain for future use; or proud of his early liguistic ability? A bit of each, I suppose!

2 Responses

  1. Too funny. He is a cheeky boy 🙂

  2. He is indeed – very aptly (re)named for my blog, in fact! Every day I could publish this sort of a post, and I wish I didn’t forget so many of the gems!

Leave a Reply

