Is one crafty evening really too much to ask?

I have been looking forward to this evening all day, and not because GG has taken himself off to the cinema to see ‘Watchmen’! I had planned a good few hours with my new (old) (well, not really mine, actually!) sewing machine to do some patchwork for an appeal I saw a while back online. I’ve never done any patchwork before, so it took a little longer than I was expecting, especially cutting out the pieces. I’ve completed one square, and I’ve got three more not far off finished, but I am absolutely shattered and so I’ve stopped. My eyes are so tired they’re dry and hurting, so I figured it probably wasn’t the best idea to be using a sewing machine or an iron whilst I was in danger of imminently falling asleep at the ironing board!

I’m chuffing annoyed though, because I’d subconsciously set myself the target of finishing the four squares as well as preparing for my next project before I went to bed, and at ten o’clock I’m desperate to get to bed. And the reason is the onset of yet another cold. I’m really annoyed that I’m picking up everything that’s going round at the moment, and I’m looking forward to my next round of blood tests to try to find out why my immune system is refusing to play nicely.

However, in better news, GG and Handsome’s passports arrived today, which mean that we now all have valid passports and can all go on our holiday in the summer! I’m definitely holding on to the kids’ passports after they’ve expired though; the photos will be priceless when they’ve grown up and are at an age to be easily embarrassed by childhood snaps! The challenge with the photos was getting a seven year old and four year old to stay still, in exactly the right place for their heads to be in the right position for the passport office, with closed mouths and wide open eyes. Handsome leaned right forward and so looks like he has a freakishly large head for his age, while Cheeky, in his efforts to have his face arranged correctly, looks either terrified or as if he is putting on the most false, innocent expression that he can manage. I was so thankful that the photographs were acceptable and I didn’t have to go through the horror of the photobooth all over again!

Also, I have today reached page 711 of ‘War and Peace’, putting me at 74% of my way through! Fabulous! That puts me well on target to finish it by the end of the month. At least I’ll be hitting one target this month!

2 Responses

  1. Well, you know what I said about Cheeky’s! Am looking forward to seeing Handsome’s 🙂

  2. I still think children’s passports are slightly daft, Oliver’s photo was taken when he was two weeks old, so he looks nothing like it all. Danny’s two years in his, and looks kind of similar but a lot more baby-ish.

    Did GG enjoy Watchmen?

Leave a Reply

