Desert Island MP3s!

desert island mp3s

This is a meme I dreamed up in the car on the way back from the farm, whilst listening to Classic FM, because I was thinking about my favourite music and wondering what my friends would name as their favourite tunes. That made me think back to Sunday mornings as a child, when Desert Island Discs would be on the radio, regular as clockwork, before lunch.

So, the rules;

  1. Name five songs or pieces of music that you would take with you to a desert island for an extended/indefinite stay;
  2. Name the book you would take;
  3. And finally, name one luxury item that you simply couldn’t be without (this sort of assumes that you are dumped on the island with very limited resources and very little in the way of a set up camp).

Once you’ve done all that, tag at least three other people to take part, and link back here so that I can come and read your lists. Go for your life!

So, here are my favourite pieces of music;

  1. ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’ by Queen – never fails to get me up, dancing and happy!
  2. Ravel’s ‘Bolero’ – obviously happy thoughts because of Torvill and Dean’s gold-winning ice dance in Sarajevo in 1984, but also I find it a really uplifting and energising piece of music.
  3. Beethoven’s ‘Egmont Overture’ – I studied this in school, so can pretty much sing every note, and yet I still absolutely adore it!
  4. Any of the songs from the ‘Mamma Mia’ soundtrack – again, I’ve seen the film and therefore have heard the songs many, many times, but each and every song from the film reliably makes me smile.
  5. Ummm, I should have only said four songs, I can’t think of a fifth! I can think of dozens, but it’s trying to narrow it down! OK, have to choose, have to choose; Katie Melua, ‘Closest thing to Crazy’, for those chilling out moments. Done!

My book; I’d choose ‘The Assassin’s Cloak’ which is an anthology of diary entries from dozens of famous diarists through the years. I’d be able to dip in and out, and it’s a good big book so it’d keep me going for a while!

My luxury; no contest. I’d have to have an internet enabled laptop with a wind-up charger! And yes, I know that theoretically a broadband connection is unlikely on a desert island, but this is my dream, and magic can happen! The internet is my single biggest source of information about almost any new thing that I attempt to do, so would be ideal if I were marooned and needed to build a house, find fresh water, dig a latrine etc etc!

As to the people I tag; I pick Jo, WelshPurpleTree, Mum, Dad, Sandie, and Marita. If any others of you want to take part, feel free, and post a comment and let me know so that I can be nosey!

13 Responses

  1. Hmm. Compelled to respond:
    Music-
    1. “Feels Like Home” bonnie rait (wedding song)
    2. “Drink Up Me Hearties, Yo Ho” hans zimmer (i dunno)
    3. “I Do Believe in Faeries” james newton howard
    4. “Thunder Road” bruce springsteen, live at the roxy, 1975, extended version
    5. “Summer Wind” frank sinatra

    Book-
    The Complete Works of William Shakespeare, by William Shakespeare, 1951 edition.

    Luxury Item-
    Weber professional series, dual fuel grill, assuming the weapons and armaments necessary to kill appropriate wildlife fowl, woodland mammals and fish.

  2. Give me the day (plus another few) to think about it. Can I have albums instead of singles?

  3. Oooh very interesting. I will think about this and put some answers in my blog tomorrow. 😀

  4. @spookwright; thanks for joining in! You could pass a fair few desert island hours by performing one woman interpretations of Shakespeare’s plays – if we’re on neighbouring islands, maybe I could visit!

    @Jo; I don’t generally encourage bending rules as laid down by myself, but you always were spoilt by me so I suppose I’ll be indulgent again!

    @Leechbabe; I look forward to being genuinely nosey and hopefully learning more about you!

  5. By the way, I decided that the meme deserved a picture, so using my superb artistic abilities I have lovingly and carefully created the one at the top of the post. And yes, it was me and not my 4 yeaar old son!

  6. […] March 16, 2009 · No Comments I’m so flat out my brain is too fried to assemble coherent blog posts, Jennie has come to my rescue with a Meme. […]

  7. why yes, I have Timandra down pat! thanks for visiting my blog!

  8. Spoilt rotten: and I love it 🙂

    Don’t you get the complete works of Shakespeare anyway? Or am I remembering it wrong?

  9. […] noticed that Jennie had tagged me in her Desert Island MP3’s meme yesterday evening, and it’s been driving […]

  10. Internet connection, of course! How would bloggers survive without it?

  11. […] as I can remember (correction, it has been running for decades – I can barely remember last week!) “Desert Island MP3s” is my daughter’s variation on the theme, except that she is a lot meaner than the BBC and […]

  12. […] Personal and Home Tags: reading, books In her comment following my earlier post about Jennie’s ‘Desert Island MP3s’ game, Digital Dame seemed a bit miffed that the potential castaway was allowed to choose only one […]

  13. […] when Jennie tagged me to take part in her version of Desert Island Discs (or MP3s, as she calls it, coz she’s young, hip and happening, unlike me, an old fogey), I […]

Leave a Reply

