Manic week

This week has been unexpectedly busy. Monday, I had a lovely day out with two of my best friends, Maria and Chris. We went to Bridgend Designer Outlet and had lunch, tea and hot chocolate together along with a good few hours of gossip and laughter. We bought chocolate, clothes and a new teapot (to fuel my growing tea obsession!) which I’m sure you will all be seeing soon! Then, shortly after arriving home Jo arrived at my door with food to cheer up my poor goopy-eyed husband – I thought that was really thoughtful and sweet, what a lovely person she is! After this, Maria and I went to see my Dad to have Maria diagnose the problem with his newly-purchased clarinet. By the time I got home, I was fit for nothing other than to fall into bed.

Tuesday, I spent most of the day with my Mum and Dad. As I have previously posted, I went out with Jo last night, but during the day I went food and material shopping with my mother. Cheeky has decided that he would like a puppy costume for his birthday, and so I have taken it upon myself to make him one. Some very fetching dalmatian print fake fur was purchased from Terry’s Fabrics on City Road in Cardiff, along with all the other bits and pieces that I will need. The lady in the shop was extremely helpful and gave very good customer service. I’ve been there before and I’ll most definitely return for future sewing projects. Then we went on to Crafty Sew and Sew, also on City Road, although I’ll admit that I went there more for a stocktake than to buy anything in particular! Sometimes I like to just see what a shop has in stock, so that I know where to go when I need something another time. Anyway, I had a good look around and found a basket of fat quarters in very nice, bright prints which would be ideal for a patchwork project I’m considering. So I bought three and left City Road happy with my purchases. In the afternoon, Dad and I set out on a hunt for someone who could mend his clarinet, but unfortunately the shop that had been recommended was no longer there so an alternative will need to be found. However, on the same trip I went to visit my mother in law and ‘liberated’ her old Singer sewing machine, which I plan to use for aforementioned puppy costume and patchwork. It was languishing in a corner of her garage feeling very lonely, so I’m sure that it will be happier living in my living room for a while! I may even have to give it a name. Suggestions to the usual address, please!

Today, I was absolutely shattered and so had a lovely long nap this morning. This afternoon has been decadently lazy, and then this evening will feature another trip out with my mother (but more on that tomorrow!). GG’s eyes are slowly recovering, and he hopes to be back at work tomorrow, although he’ll still have to clean his eyes through the day.

So, now you’re fully updated, and probably understand why I’ve not managed to post since the weekend, other than my brief note about my cinema visit last night. I really hope to be getting back to normal now!

3 Responses

  1. Does he want a puppy costume for any particular reason?

  2. He’s my puppy, apparently, and so needs some (fake) fur!

  3. I call Oliver my puppy, as he has a habit of carrying things in his mouth, and chewing things.

Leave a Reply

