The ongoing struggle…

…that is my attempt to get the whole way through ‘War and Peace’ is about to recommence. After I threw down the gauntlet (to read more books that we haven’t read before) earlier in a comment conversation with Jo, I feel as if I should get cracking with my reading. And so it is with great sadness that I’m putting aside ‘The Craic’ by Mark McCrum for a few days (weeks, months?) while I make another attempt at Tolstoy’s, umm, feat of endurance. Seriously, marriages have been shorter than this book.

I’m up to page 175 of my Wordsworth Classics edition (5 for £5 or £1.50 each, according to the sticker on the front cover) but don’t be fooled by the seeming high page number. There are 958 pages in total. 958! I’m sure, at this point, that the only reason it was ever successful in the first place is because noone wanted to admit that they hadn’t made it the whole way through, and so just said it was wonderful to end the conversation! But maybe I’m being unfair. I wouldn’t know, having only made it 18% of the way through the book. Oh bother. I really wish I’d not worked that out now! I’m deliberately not going to work out how many pages are left. I just don’t, at this point, want to know!

So, here I go. I’m off now then. Any minute. Off to sit in bed and read. Upsy daisy. Off I go.

No, I just can’t build up the enthusiasm. Please, someone who has read ‘War and Peace’, please leave an encouraging comment to help me through! I really want to get through it. I even enjoyed a few bits of it the last time I picked it up. I think it’s just the length and the small, small print which is extremely discouraging!

Right. I’m definitely going now. One minute past eleven. Hmm. I’m tired, and I’m taking ‘War and Peace’ to bed with me. I don’t think this will be a very productive night’s reading, but I’ll give it my best shot! Night then! Updates on the W&P progress as and when!

9 Responses

  1. If you want to read a book you can’t put down, check out, Night School, by yours truly. Enjoy!

  2. Can’t help you, I’m afraid. I picked it up a few years ago, read the first page, and put it back on the shelf.

    As for the length, I’ve read many books that are over the 1000 mark – but it helps if they are, you know, interesting…!

  3. Yeah. Quite! I’ve read a few longer books as well (especially if you count LOTR or His Dark Materials as one book) but they definitely gripped me, not wanting to be put down. Ho hum. I’ll plod on. Updates later…!

  4. maybe I won’t ask to borrow it once you’re finished, if you’re struggling I’ll probably fall asleep every time I try to read it. I didn’t get through LOTR.

  5. Not a book I’ve ever read sorry… and I’m unlikely to ever read it either.

    LOTR on the other hand I love, might be time for a re-read of that one.

  6. I have read it…I kept on… 😦

    but unlike other books I have NEVER re read it again….

    and no I read it for pleasure, not schooling reasons the first and only time….

    If you really don’t like it…give up on it and read something you DO like, is my advice..

  7. It’s not so much that I don’t like it, as that the length and amount of characters to be kept up with is quite daunting. In fact, there are certain turns of phrase that I’m really enjoying. I’m starting to remember some of the key characters now, which is making my reading easier. I’m usually a very fast reader, you see, and so to find that I’ve only read thirty pages in two days is quite dispiriting for me! I’ll persevere though. I’m sure it will be worth it. And I’m going to enjoy a long hot bath this afternoon, so I’ll clear a good few pages while I’m in that.

  8. Hi Jennie,
    Thrilled to read that you’re finding The Craic more enjoyable than Tolstoy! That’s given a real lift to my writing day. But seriously, you should put W & P to one side and, if you haven’t read it before, read Anna Karenina, which is a greater novel, and much more of a page-turner. Trust me. After that, you might find W & P more accessible. My other advice is to skip the war bits. Which really do go on a bit …
    All the best,
    Mark

  9. @Mark – Thank you very much for the advice. I’ll give W&P another week, and then if I’ve not made significant progress I’ll give Anna Karenina a try. I’ve not been able to read very much for the last few days though, after getting conjunctivitis, but that’s nearly better now. I’m a third of the way through W&P, so I don’t want to give up now. It’s just getting me hooked! Although I do agree about the war bits. I’m not sure why I need to know about each 30 yard walk the officers on horses take, but there we are.

    Plus, I’ve told myself that, as inspiration to keep reading, when I get to the end of book 6 in W&P I can finish The Craic as a treat before I have to finish W&P! Thanks for your comment, and for visiting the blog. Always nice to hear from new people.

Leave a Reply

