Geography – a new series! Part 1 – Senegal

GG and I were looking at my clustr map last night (at the bottom of my sidebar) to see from where I am getting visitors. I was amazed about the wide range of countries from which people have been visiting. You sort of assume that all your visitors are from your own country when you start out. Then you realise that the other English speaking countries probably send some people your way. However, it was a very pleasant surprise when I saw how many other countries had little red dots on them! And when I looked at the list of countries by name, I was ashamed of how many I could not have pointed out on a map. And even if I could, I suspect that I couldn’t tell you the first interesting thing about any of those places. So, in an attempt to further my education, I am going to find out more about some of these places, and kind person that I am, I’m going to share my education with all of you!

So, as indicated in the title, today’s lesson is going to be about Senegal. At this moment in time I know nothing about Senegal other than how to spell it. I’m not proud of that at all, so I’m off to find something interesting to tell you. Back in a mo!

…Google…Wikipedia…BBC…reading…reading…reading…

So, Senegal is on the Western coast of Africa, has a population of nearly 13 million and the official language is French, although many tribal languages are spoken as well. It is a mainly Islamic country, and has been held up as an example of a model democracy in the region.

At only five hours from Europe and seven from the East coast of the US, it sounds like a wonderful destination for a beach holiday, with white sand beaches, although I also like the sound of the capital city, Dakar. The accounts I have read paint it as a vibrant and diverse place, full of colour and interest.

There are lots of local crafts in the country, including precious metal work. The authorities also seem to have taken steps to ensure the local wildlife thrives, so that you can see elephants, lions and monkeys amongst other species in Senegal.

Well there. I’ve learned the basics about Senegal, as well as other things like the principal exports and GDP which I won’t bore you with! Next time we will be finding out where in the world Guadeloupe is!

2 Responses

  1. I love geography. I have an entire blog just on that topic. It seems impossible to learn it all though. Some things will stick though as you read about them.

  2. That’s what I’m hoping. I never enjoyed Geography at school, and dropped it as soon as I could. My geographical knowledge (or lack thereof) was always something of a family joke, although it has improved a bit in recent years! I hope to be able to spend a bit more time on the research in the future to make the posts a bit more interesting! Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

