Another 2009 project

Crochet squares 1

This is going to be a project which will take me right up until next Winter, I reckon! I’m quite quickly getting through my stash of DK yarn, crocheting squares to make myself a patchwork quilt for my bed. My plan is to make a normal patchwork blanket, and then add a fabric back to make it a really cosy quilt. So far I’ve got 24 squares, and I’ve no idea how many it will take! I plan on making a fair few more squares before I even look for the answer to that question. Otherwise I get the impression that I’ll get discouraged!

5 Responses

  1. We’ve got something similar that was made by my great grandmother or one of her friends or family members… hmm, not sure of the history but it’s old! And very very warm in winter.

  2. Don’t know if you need any more wool, but I noticed they were selling packs of it in Lidl’s. Nice purple colour, although obviously don’t know if it’s any good, or the price. Not much help am I?

  3. @Jo – warmth is the general idea!

    @WPT – not a great deal of help, no! But I might go and have a look anyway. Although I don’t think GG will thank you if it leads to the amount of wool we have in the house increasing!

  4. great idea – and a great way to use up your stash. I’m on a bit of a stashbusting mission at the mo, so I’ll keep this in mind!

  5. Ooooh Jennie they look so neat. Well done!

Leave a comment