An un-Christmas present…

…or maybe a Happy February present! Whatever the reason, my lovely Mum gave me this book today:

John Seymour book

John Seymour; “The Concise Guide to Self-Sufficiency”. I’ve already read a large chunk of it (while I ate lunch loveingly prepared by my father for me!) and I’m finding it fascinating.

I bought Jo the latest John Seymour book for Christmas and was secretly envious and wishing I could justify keeping it! So I really was thrilled this morning to receive this from my generous parent!

Now all I need to do is to find the wherewithal to buy a house and five acres of land and I’ll be all set…

9 Responses

  1. The title intrigues me. What’s it about?

  2. Well, I could now (in theory) kill and prepare a chicken for dinner, butcher a pig carcass, build a beehive and make birch-sap wine! All good fun stuff! But more seriously (and more useful for many people, I’d imagine) it gives good advice on how to start a vegetable garden as well as new (old) ideas of how to store surplus produce. I’m a wannabe country girl at heart, so reading this is like pretending I cold be living the dream!

  3. Thanks!

    I know a girl who would love this book and I may just gift it to her as a gift.

    Many thanks Jennie P.

  4. Well, I could now (in theory) kill and prepare a chicken for dinner…

    Excellent! What you up to tomorrow?

  5. You’re very welcome, Otto. And Jo, tomorrow I’ll be washing my hair! There’s no way I’m coming and killing evil b*st*rd chicken for you, you need to learn to do it yourself!

  6. I’m not doing it for you either….

    πŸ˜‰

  7. It’s the preparing rather than the killing that I’m not sure about. I’ve held him a few times and “practised” so I think the Deed should be ok…

  8. I’ve held him a few times and “practised” …

    Lol! I was quite literally helpless with laughter when I read that!! Bless you!

  9. Erm, glad to be of service?

    I do a stand up act as well you know.

    It’s called “try to shut the chickens up before dark”

Leave a Reply

