Snow! Schnee! Neige! Nueva! Eira!

Woohoo! And yahay! And yeeha! It’s snowing! As I type the snow is still coming down, and is settling for the first time in a couple of years! So here are some early photos for your viewing pleasure. If the snow hasn’t melted by the time I get up tomorrow, you may expect some more!

Snow on my magnolia tree in the front garden

Snow on my magnolia tree in the front garden

A dizzying snow dance captured with a slow shutter by our parking area

A dizzying snow dance captured with a slow shutter speed on my camera

Earlier in the day, I captured these images, of which I am a little proud, I must admit! I can honestly say that never in my life before can I remember having seen snowflakes that actually look like the stylised depiction that you so often see in childrens’ books and artwork!
A snowflake! Like in a fairy tale!

A snowflake! Like in a fairy tale!

 

And more snowflakes!

And more snowflakes!

I wish I could have captured more with my camera, as I was fascinated by these perfectly formed little ice crystals. I spent ages examining them all on the bonnet of my car – my neighbours must have thought that I had gone doolally-tap!

Anyway, if this weather keeps up there will be a snow day tomorrow and the children will stay home from school. In which case we will most definitely be spending some time outdoors. I’m thinking snowmen, I’m thinking snowballs, and I’m definitely thinking more photos!

3 Responses

  1. I like the snow dance photo 🙂

  2. I’m wondering whether you’ve had more snow by now? I see on the lunchtime news that Wales had been affected….. looking forward to more photos!

  3. We had some more flurries of snow, but most of it has melted now. We are forecast more later in the week though – most unusual for the capital city! And I took plenty of photos earlier that I’ll post after dinner – I suppose I really should take a break to feed the screaming horde!

Leave a Reply

