A walk around Castell Coch…

…or more properly, the woods near Castell Coch, but I can’t remember what they are called (if they have a name!). Jo, the dogs, GG, my boys and I all went for a brisk, bracing walk yesterday afternoon, enjoying the lack of precipitation for a change. It’s a steep hill to the start of the walk, but well worth it. I thought I’d like to share some photos with you.

After we’d been walking for a while, we came upon an archway with “Lost and Found” inscribed upon it. We followed Jo and went through, to discover lots of things apparently part of a fairy world! The boys were delighted. I think the pictures speak for themselves, so I’ll post them and stop chattering on aimlessly!

castell-coch-spider

Incey Wincey Spider...

GG and his Des Res!

GG and his Des Res!

Handsome and Cheeky inspecting a cauldron

Handsome and Cheeky inspecting a cauldron

Dragon in his lair!

Dragon in his lair!

Monkey like face carved on a tree - not sure what this was about!

Monkey like face carved on a tree - not sure what this was about!

Jo, Midge and Snipe

Jo, Midge and Snipe

We all really enjoyed the walk; the boys made it round what was at least two miles and probably more without any whingeing at all, and we’re looking forward to the next walk. It definitely makes a difference, walking with a dog!

4 Responses

  1. What on earth was I looking at?!

  2. I’ve never seen any of that stuff at Castell Coch. Did you know it was there or did you just stumble across it?

  3. We just wandered off the beat and track and there they were! Not sure if I could find them again…!

  4. I could! I’d seen the gateway before, but hadn’t bothered to go through it as we were following a definite walk out of a book that time and so weren’t randomly exploring like we were on Sunday. Imagine how gorgeous all that would have been this morning! I wish I could have gone back!

Leave a Reply

