Frost/Nixon

Last night, Mum and I were given the opportunity to attend a preview screening of ‘Frost/Nixon’ last night at a cinema in the centre of Cardiff. At the cinema we were asked to tell ten people about the film, to repay the free cinema ticket, and so I decided to post here to fulfil my obligation!

I knew nothing about the Watergate scandal before I was offered the free cinema tickets, and so I went on good old trusty Wikipedia to find out something about the subject before I went. I’m glad I did, as I think the film assumes a certain amount of pre-knowledge of the history of this time. However, I enjoyed that the film showed more of the human element of the events, rather than concentrating on a fact-dense account of the period.

Frost/Nixon

Michael Sheen excelled as David Frost. If you closed your eyes, you could believe from listening to him that he actually was Mr Frost. I am too young to remember President Nixon, so I can’t say how accurate Frank Langella’s portrayal of him was, but it certainly was a compelling performance, making him out to be quite the devious man, yet very lonely and maybe slightly confused at the same time.

The film was about two hours long. The time passed very quickly, and unused as I am to going to the cinema so early in the evening (it started at 6.30) I really felt as if it was time for bed when we left the cinema complex at 8.30!

I would recommend this film to anyone who has an interest in American or political history, or even in the frailty of human nature and the temptations offered to those in control of great power.

Of course, yesterday was a truly momentous occasion in modern political history with the inauguration of America’s 44th president, and I intend to write more about that later today. It deserves more than a two-sentence add-on to the end of a film review!

Leave a Reply

