Gluten free shortbread recipe

I’ve been meaning to post this recipe for some time as it is so simple to make, and is very popular with both my friend Maria and Helen, both of whom suffer from coeliac disease and have a hard time avoiding gluten in their diet.

Gluten Free Shortbread

  • shortbread rounds8oz/250g gluten free plain flour
  • 8oz/250g softened butter
  • 4oz/125g cornflour
  • 4oz/125g icing sugar
  • caster sugar for dusting

Mix all the ingredients together, and knead lightly so that it forms a ball of dough. It may be a bit crumbly at this stage; don’t worry too much about that. Sometimes if the dough seems too dry I add just a few drops of vanilla essence. Wrap the ball of dough in clingfilm and chill for one hour in the fridge to bind it all together. After the chilling time, heat the oven to 180°C, form the dough into biscuit shapes or press into a greased or lined tin, prick holes all over the dough with a fork or skewer and bake until golden brown. This took about 15-20 minutes for the shortbread rounds but nearer 30-35 for the tin full that I made. If you make a large piece in a tin, you need to slice it up the minute you take it out of the oven. Dust the shortbread with caster sugar as soon as it comes out of the oven as well, as the sugar will stay put more effectively if you put it on while the shortbread is hot. Then leave the shortbread to cool in the tin for a little while as it will still be soft-ish in the middle at first, then put it onto a wire rack to finish off cooling down. It will keep well in an airtight tin for a good week or two, although I’ve never known home made biscuits to stay in this house for that long!

shortbread fingers

For my shortbread rounds I actually used a cup cake tray and pressed  some of the dough into each of the holes, and it came out really well. I gave Maria a tin of shortbread for Christmas, which was returned last week to be refilled, so it must have been OK! The pictures show the shortbread I made yesterday to refill the tin, and my sons were happy to perform the task of tasters to check that the biscuits weren’t poisonous in any way – bless them!

Also, I’m fairly certain that by simply substituting the gluten free flour for gluten-full ‘normal’ plain flour these could be made for those of us who are lucky enough not to suffer with a gluten allergy or intolerance.

*Edit* I just remembered another trick I used yesterday to make it easier. I microwaved the dough for about twenty seconds when it came out of the fridge just to make it a bit more malleable for getting it in the tins. It made it much easier than it usually is to form the shapes I wanted.

6 Responses

  1. Yummy, yummy. I was thinking about making shortbread only the other day, probably because you told me you were making some. I haven’t got round to it though.

  2. The first time I made it I was surprised by how easy it was to make, and it has only got easier since. I’m planning on posting more recipes (mainly for you!!) over the next few weeks, so keep your eyes open!

  3. I’m just dropping by to say thank you for your comment on my blog and thought I’d check out yours! I love it! I’ve only made a small dent in reading all the posts but your comments on David Tennant alone are enough to make me come back!

    Will be popping you on my blogmates roll!

    xx

  4. Thank you very much Sandie, it’s good to find a fellow David Tennant fan (not that I generally have to look very far, mind you!). I’ve been following your blog via my ‘blog surfer’ for some time now, but your comment has given me the prod I needed to put you on my blogroll as well – thank you very much for doing that for me!

    xxx

  5. That looks delicious- I must try it soon! My Mum used to make shortbread like this, but she never wrote the recipe down! 🙂

  6. My mouthuis watering – I just love shortbread! This sounds a really simple recipe, so I shall indulge!!

Leave a Reply

