An ex-WIP!

I don’t think I’m alone in having a mini-celebration in my head every time I finish a craft project – there’s something so satisfying about producing something entirely under your own steam, whether it’s a drawing, something from yarn, some foodie item that you’ve taken extra time and care over or one of the countless other forms of crafting.

For all you non-‘yarnies’ out there, WIP stands for Work In Progress. I’ve lost count of the number of WIPs I have lying around my house, and I hope to reduce that number this year.

Before Christmas, I started scarves for two of my friends. I obviously didn’t leave enough time to complete them though, given that I finished the last stitches on Thursday evening. I gave the scarf pictured below to my friend Maria yesterday evening, and she seemed very happy with it!

scarf

She loves wearing scarves, and so when I saw the pattern for this over at A little slice of life I couldn’t resist. I love the lacy stitching, and the lightness of the finished scarf. I could picture Maria wearing it on a warmish Spring day. I hope to get a picture of her wearing it later on.

As I said, I love the stich combination used in this scarf. It’s very simple to make but very effective, and I have plans (when I’ve cleared some of my WIP backlog a little!) to make myself a summer top using this stitch. More on that at a later date though!

11 Responses

  1. That is pretty, you’re very clever.

  2. Thank you very much! But I’m not really, I’ve just learned how to follow a pattern. Anyone could do it!

  3. It is beautiful, a lovely stitching finish.

  4. Thanks Leechbabe, I love how delicate it looks. I’ve found that a lot of my crochet work looks a bit bulky, probably because I’ve mainly used double knit (8ply) yarn until now, so I’m really pleased with the different look of this pattern.

  5. The cotton works really well – it looks lovely and so delicate. Glad you liked the pattern 🙂

  6. This is just simply lovely! I found your pics by following from your comment on kittyboo. I, too, really like the yarn that you used! Could you please tell me what kind to buy and how much of it? Thank you so much. I am constantly amazed at the interaction that a person can receive on the different groups. It has saved my newbie behind many times! :>) Since I definitely plan on crocheting this pattern, are there any hints that I should know?

  7. Thank you very much Mary! I used a regular white crochet cotton, not really much thicker than the sort of cotton that you sew with really. My mother in law gave some to me, although I also bought some a few weeks ago in Lidl when they had an offer on. I think it would be called ‘laceweight’, and I used far less than one standard sized ball to make the scarf, which is extremely long! As to hints, as long as you get the number of stitches in the initial chain right, and the first row comes together properly, the rest is really easy and looks fantastic! I’m really looking forward to using this stitch again for the summer top I have in my mind. I’m saving that for when the weather warms up a little though!

    I hope I was of use! Thanks for visiting. x

  8. one more question please….with that size thread which hook size did you use?

    Thank you for such a prompt answer earlier & YES you most certainly did help!!

    MG

  9. I think I used a 4 or 4.5 hook, to give the ‘open’ lacy aspect to it. I’m using a 2.5 at the moment, trying to make a jug cover for the summer with the same cotton, and it would be way too tight to make the scarf with such a small hook, which is the size you would usually use, I think.

    Good luck!

  10. Me again! I chained my 60 & then realized that it seemed a little wide. I re read your comments on the page that has the pattern in US terms & you mentioned “only five shells per row”! Sooo you started off with a different chain length then, am I right? I am lost with out an exact pattern to follow so I am trying to get it right in my head. Sorry to be such a bother!! LOL! I like your width of the scarf.

  11. Hi Mary!

    Yeah, I thought it would be a bit too wide as well, plus I’m really lazy and have zero patience so I made them thinner in order to get them made sooner! I e-mailed the author of the pattern and she says to take off 8 chains in order to reduce the width by one shell. I seem to remember starting with 44ch (sounds familiar!).

    I hope this is helpful, and I’m sorry that I’ve taken a while to reply. And you’re not a bother! I’m glad to help! Let me know how it goes. xx

Leave a Reply

