On welcoming the clean slate which is 2009

Happy New Year! I imagine that almost every blogger in the western world will be blogging on a similar theme today, but despite that I decided to add to the blog-clutter of the new year and have my say!

I was conspicuously absent from the blogosphere for a goodly while, this time last year, but I distinctly remember making pen-and-paper lists of things that I hoped to achieve by 2009. Well, as with everyone, some things were done while others were shelved or put on a back burner. I think almost everyone makes lists or resolutions which are challenging at best, or hopelessly unachievable (my usual!) at worst!

I’ve read through the blogs which I follow, and most of them have hopes and aspirations for the coming year, some more specific than others. But one in particular stuck out in my mind and so (I hope she doesn’t mind!) I’m going to follow Hayden‘s example and choose discipline to be the theme or determination for my year, rather than committing to a long list of resolutions which will fall by the wayside (not might, but definitely will!) by the end of the month.

Discipline is something that I think I need to aspire to. Discipline to do the housework when I’d rather be online. Discipline to prepare more meals from scratch rather than whipping something up at the last moment. Discipline to regulate and make healthier my diet and lifestyle – I really need to make regular exercise a feature of my way of life. If discipline is the antithesis of laziness, then I really need to master it.

Aside from all of that, may I wish you health, wealth and happiness for 2009, and many good times which will ensure many happy memories for the future.

3 Responses

  1. Discipline, that sounds like a very good theme for the year. It does take a lot of discipline to overcome desire to play online instead of clean house.

  2. Doesn’t it just! (She says, having been online 4 times today already, especially as the BBC has said today that they are announcing the new Doctor Who tomorrow. It’d better be a worthy replacement for David Tennant, that’s all I can say!

  3. I’m going to try and take a leaf out of your book and try and be more disciplined this year too, Jennie! Great idea!

Leave a Reply

