Braving the sales

We have noticed recently that Handsome seems to have suddenly got to a place in his life where he owns practically no trousers that fit him. As a result, he has been wearing trousers belonging to his younger brother, which makes him look like a regular orphan of the storm, with the bottoms of his trousers and the tops of his socks not quite meeting! Not that it bothers him at all. I actually don’t think he even notices, to be honest, but I don’t want him to look entirely unloved, so we ventured into town today and bought him a couple of pairs of jeans.

His younger brother, on the other hand, is, at the grand old age of four, highly sensitive to the nuances of fashion (at least, fashion as he sees it!) and pretty much refuses to leave the house unless his outfit is fully co-ordinated! So, I don’t know why I was surprised today when he chose to spend some of his Christmas money on a fake black leather jacket and black and white Converse-like trainers! I think he wants to look like Mutt Williams from Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, but his father and I can’t help thinking of the Fonz, while his Godmother had an image of Danny Zuko when I told her about his purchases!

Within a short time of coming home, he had changed into his new jacket, teamed with a pair of pyjama bottoms, as they were the only black trousers he could find in his wardrobe!

I can’t help marvelling at the contrast between my two sons. When I found out I was having a second child, and then found out he was going to be a boy, I imagined that the two boys would be very similar, with similar temperaments, outlooks on life etc. How wrong I was! I’m lucky in that they like all the same things so all their toys are shared, but their characters are very different. I think I had my first clue that they might not be very similar moments after the birth of Cheeky, when we saw that he had bright blonde hair, in stark contrast to the very dark brown, nearly black hair of Handsome, my husband and I! How naive was I.

It just goes to show that while environment and upbringing might help how you develop and control your character, you’re definitely born with a certain amount of your ‘personhood’ built in.

Leave a Reply

