On London, Hamlet and my blog silence for two weeks

I have been noticeably absent from my blog for nearly two weeks! For that I apologise and I will do my best to fill you in on what I’ve been up to.

Today is the first day on which I can relax with an easy conscience in quite a while, given that I took on a lot of Christmas crafting and baking to do which took up a lot of my time in the immediate pre-Christmas rush. I was incredibly glad that I had been ahead with buying Christmas presents and sending Christmas cards, as I hate to think how little sleep I would have had if I had left all of that to the last minute.

Anyway, we got all of our cards made, and most of the presents I planned, although there are still a couple of things left to finish. They were mainly additional presents though, so I’ve briefed the intended recipients that they will be available as New Year presents!

Of course, a week ago my mother and I went to London for two nights. Bridge over serpentine She has written a good account of our trip here, so I’ll leave you to read that rather than repeating everything that she has written. We had a lot of fun, with lots of giggles even if our hotel room was like an oven and we felt as if we were being slow-cooked overnight! (I’m only just getting back to my normal body temperature now!) Hamlet poster claudiusThe RSC production of Hamlet was superb, and David Tennant’s understudy was brilliant. He (Edward Bennett) was simply fantastic in the leading role, and although I will admit that I was imagining how David Tennant might have played it all the way through, I wasn’t disappointed in the performances of all the leading actors.

After the performance, Mum and I went to Trafalgar Square to see the Christmas tree. It was strange being in Trafalgar Square at nearly midnight and having the place nearly to ourselves, but all the more special for all that. st martin in the fieldsNext to Trafalgar Square is the church of St Martin in the Fields, which we were excited to see as some of my ancestors were married there. I spent quite a lot of time playing with the settings on my camera to try to get some good night time photos, but only really succeeded when I found some solid surfaces to lean the camera on.

All in all, we had a good couple of days, and it was quite a relief to be physically removed from the pre-Christmas preparations for that couple of days as I felt all the more able to plunge into the baking etc when I returned. Plus, I think GG now has a better understanding of what it is like, coping with two small children when they are incredibly excited, and the reason that I don’t seem to get very much done when the children are home from school!

Wellington house

3 Responses

  1. Merry Christmas and a Great 2009!

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/12/25/it-is-christmas-day/

    I like St Martin too, with the dome behind it and the fountain in front, it makes a great shot.

  2. Oooh it sounds like you had a wonderful time. Welcome back to blogland 🙂

  3. Thank you very much – it’s very good to have the time to be back!

Leave a Reply

