NaNoWriMo wasn’t this hard last time!

I apologise in advance for the whiny blog post. However, I committed to doing NaBloPoMo this month, and I’m damned if I’m failing at TWO challenges! Yup, NaNoWriMo is not looking good to get done by the end of the month. I’ve got ten days to write thirty thousand words. Now, this is eminently doable, if only I could find the inspiration to carry on with my lacklustre attempt. I can’t even think of rubbish to write, never mind stories that I actually enjoy committing to my laptop.

I’d like to say that I’m going to sit down later today and chuck out a couple of thousand words, but this is extremely unlikely. I’m far more likely to carry on with one of my Christmas projects, or make more marmalade. Tomorrow, I’ll wake up in exactly the right mood to churn out thousands and thousands of words…but I’m in work tomorrow, so that’s not going to happen. Grrr.

I don’t like failing, and over-analyse myself when I do. Each successive failure reminds me of others that have passed before – failing at a diet, or a fitness regime, not doing as well as I would have hoped in University (just managed not to fail that time!), failing to get the house decorated before winter set in…the list goes on.

Ah well, this self-indulgent twaddle is definitely not helping to get the book written. I think my main problem is that it is supposed to be a feel-good book, but I obviously don’t feel positive enough to generate the imagination required to write about genuinely happy people right now.

What a sad case! I’ll pull myself together soon, I promise!

4 Responses

  1. Sorry it isn’t going so well! I’d be a disaster if I **had** to do it, so I admire your commitment! ((hugs))

  2. If you’re not gonna finish then it’s ok to say so and get on with your life! Otherwise you’re nowt but a daft sausage (repeated for Suzy’s benefit!!!!!)

  3. OK, Jo, I took your advice. Yes, I’m happy to admit that not everything you say is drivel!! And I’m also now in a comfortable enough place (after a couple of days to come to terms with it) to admit that I am nothing more than a daft sausage – Dad said pretty much the same thing today!

  4. I’m happy to admit that not everything you say is drivel

    😀

Leave a Reply

