Winter weather forecast

So, I’ve been looking at the UK Meteorological Office’s website to see what their long term weather forecast is for the coming winter months. Apparently, we are in for a winter which is colder than last year, but drier.

Cold, I can handle. Extra jumpers, scarves, mittens and gloves can all help deal with that. Rain, however, gets me down. I posted a comment over at Rhonda-Jean’s blog the other day after she said that the sound of rain falling at night helps her to sleep like a baby. I, I’m afraid, don’t share the comfort which she takes from the sound of rainfall. A few years ago, we had a flood (it wasn’t just a leak!) from the flat above, where a pipe burst and the water gushed through all the weaknesses in the ceilings in our sitting room, kitchen, bathroom and hall. It happened in the middle of the night, as these things so thoughtlessly often do, and the first that I was aware of it was when I woke up to the apparent sound of heavy rainfall. It was only when I realised that the sound was coming from within the flat that I leaped out of bed and started to run around panicking! Eventually, after getting the police out to hammer down the door of the flat above (we couldn’t wake them for love nor money) we managed to stop the flow of water, although we had no more sleep that night. And ever since, whenever we have heavy rain at night here in Cardiff, I find it incredibly hard to get a sound night’s sleep. So I welcome the prospect of a drier winter than we experienced last year. Even a drier few months than the ‘summer’ (it’s in inverted commas for a reason!) was would be nice! Maybe then I could catch up on my sleep!

One Response

  1. The summer was wick!! I hope we get a drier winter too. It would be nice to get a bit of snow some time- we rarely get it in Northern Ireland- because Robbie hasn’t played in the snow yet, he was too little last year. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

