More fireworks photos!

bonfireWe were delighted to be invited to a private bonfire and fireworks party last night, hosted by GG’s boss at his smallholding (grrr, very jealous of that!!). I managed to take some more pictures, fiddling with the settings on my camera all the while, although I can’t tell whether or not it improved the quality at all! I think it’s probably a bit hit and miss with fireworks, as you have to be very lucky in order to press the button at the correct moment to capture the explosion of colour.

firework5

These two (above and below) were my favourite pictures of the evening. The first picture, I think, manages to capture the starburst aspect of the firework, while you can clearly see the variety of colours in the below picture. I think what I was hoping to achieve was a clear photo of individual sparkles of the firework, but either I need a better camera for that or I need to do some more research before next year! Digital Dame left me a comment on my last post about fireworks in which she posted a link to a website which (hopefully) will show me where I’m going wrong! However, even though I’ve not got the photos for which I was hoping, I’m still content (for now!) with the results I’ve achieved.

firework 6

But first, I need to go and get a couple of thousand words written for my NaNoWriMo project! On this day two years ago I passed the 50,000 word mark – it’ll take a small miracle and faster fingers than mine to get there in the next seventeen hours! That would be an average of 2200 words an hour, and I need to cook, eat and drink as well!

6 Responses

  1. The fire that inspires. The fire in you.

  2. I love the bonfire photo – you can feel the heat just by looking at it!

  3. Great pics! The bonfire one is my favourite too. 🙂

  4. The bonfire photo is wonderful! Forgive the dumb American here, what was the occasion?

  5. Thank you all for your kind comments about my photos – much appreciated as an ego boost!

    Digital Dame – on 5th November we celebrate Guy Fawkes Night. Guy Fawkes was a man who, in 1605 (I think that’s right!) led a plot to try to blow up the Houses of Parliament in London while the King was inside it. The plot was discovered, the perpetrators severely punished and (I’m not sure when exactly it started) we now celebrate the plot being discovered and prevented by having fireworks and a bonfire. Also (although this tradition has more or less died out now) children always used to create a ‘Guy’ out of old clothes, stuffed with paper or straw, and then wheel it round the streets for a few days before Bonfire Night, asking for “a penny for the Guy”. The ‘Guy’ would then be put on top of the bonfire and burned!

    I hope this answers your question!

  6. Oh right! Incredibly I have heard of it, but didn’t know all the details. Thanks for the explanation.

Leave a Reply

