NaNoWriMo 2008

Hurrah! November has begun, and therefore NaNoWriMo is underway. I thought long and hard while deciding whether or not to take part this year, but have come to the conclusion that I can only give it a go. I missed last year (too much going on in November, what with Mum and Dad moving and my holiday to Salzburg at the end of the month) and don’t want to miss another year. Especially with it being the tenth anniversary of NaNoWriMo this year.

NaNoWriMo, for those of you not in the know, is something that completely mad people do, who should find more productive uses of their time! No, only joking…it is a month long chance for those of us who harbour secret literary ambitions to put pen to paper (or finger to keyboard, whatever floats your boat) and churn out a 50,000 word manuscript in thirty days. The main rule is that you should abandon all hope of editing until next month, and just turn out the words as fast and as furiously as you can!

I took part for the first time in 2006, devoting every spare waking minute (and some of those when I should have been sleeping!) to writing my NaNovel…and the sequel…and the start of the third part of the trilogy! Basically, after the first week when I had nearly achieved my 50,000 word target I decided to have a push to write as much as I could. The first novel, the one I had planned in October, came to a natural end at about 79,000 words if I remember correctly, but as I was only half way through the month I didn’t want to sit back and do nothing. So I started on the sequel, which I think took me up to about 140,000 words, and I still had a few days left of the month. At that point it seemed a shame to waste the remaining few days with literary inactivity, and so the third and unplanned book came (partially) into being. I can’t remember what my final word count was – I think it was somewhere around 168000 words, although I could be wrong.

Anyway, I’ve been dithering about taking part this year for so long that November has already started and I have no plan or plot! So I’m working blind, so to speak. Wish me luck!

4 Responses

  1. Several of my friends are doing NaNoWriMo this year. Is going to be very quiet around the internets in November.

  2. This one had better be a best seller!!!!

    Good luck, you’re totally bonkers but enjoy! Feel free to pester for plot ideas of you get stuck šŸ˜€

    Piglets say good luck too and want to know if this means you won’t have time to see them this month?

  3. Of course I won’t be too busy to see them – I’ve always got time for them!

    I may be pestering you for info about pigs, chickens and various other livestock though, even if I don’t get to the point where I need help with content bolstering!

  4. Leechbabe: I’m going to try my best to keep up my internet presence – I’ll just have to type faster and prevaricate less! I’m determined to do more housework than I did last time I took part in NaNoWriMo as well! I may have to update on that progress in a week or so though…

Leave a Reply

