Contented with my lot

Be Content with what you have; rejoice in the way things are. When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you.

Another quote from the famous Chinese philosopher and sage Lao-Tzu. I’m enjoying these quotes because there is a universal truth in them, as well as comfort to be had from them. I know that whenever I feel content with my way of life, glad that I have chosen to be a stay at home mum and not anxious that maybe I should be working in order to raise our family’s income I feel much happier in myself.

There is really very little to be gained from regretting what life has dealt you, especially if there is little you can do to alter your way of life. Yes, I could go back to work and increase our income but then that would be balanced by worry about my children and whether I’d always be there for them when I’m needed and whether I could be a good enough wife and mother if I was trying to concentrate on improving my career.

Lots of people have been asking me what I plan to do now that Cheeky is in school full time, and on the whole they seem to assume that I will be going into full time employment. I really have no interest in getting back to work. I don’t feel unfulfilled as a person, I am happy to be doing what I’m doing and I don’t want to change my way of life. I think that I can find plenty of useful things to do to occupy my time whilst the children are at school, and then I think that the most important thing I can do is to be here for them once they come home. I feel very blessed that we are able to make this choice and that I’m not forced into working more hours in order to pay the mortgage or cover the bills. I know that many people don’t have the luxury of being able to have a parent stay at home with the children, but we had that opportunity and so I’ve taken it.

So, in answer to all of you who keep asking me (and please stop asking now, before I just get the answers tattooed on my forehead!), no, I’m not planning to go back to work/college/university now that I’ve ‘got rid’ of the children, and no, that does not automatically mean that I’m planning to have more babies!

End of topic.

3 Responses

  1. Quite right too. We all have our own path to walk- and it isn’t up to anyone else how we walk it. I wish you joy on yours, no matter where it takes you! šŸ™‚

  2. Jennie, thank you so much for stopping by my blog! I love hearing from new people and I’m glad that you enjoyed my recent post. Please stop by regularly, I’m going to be posting a questionnaire for people to respond to on these very topics. And I agree – living in an apartment or flat does make it more challenging. I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  3. Bravo on your choice to stay at home! Me too!! … I get sick of people asking me, “what do you do?”( as though I am defined by what job I’m in) …. so I just say, “whatever I want – it’s great!”
    Willow x

    Yeah, I think I need to get bolshier! Next time someone asks, I’ll say, “cook, chauffeur, laundress, personal shopper, housekeeper, entertainer, inventor, gardener, copywriter, seamstress, teacher…”!!

Leave a Reply

