Plumple Jam

I’m feeling much happier now as I’ve spent some time this morning making plumple jam. What is a plumple, I hear you ask? I have a random, and very childish habit of making new words out of the names of two fruits where I use them for jam. So grape and apple became grapple, damson and apple became dample and plum and apple today became plumple! I know, very cute!

It made me feel so much happier, and plums are still just in season so I thought I’d post the recipe here for you to share the joy.

Ingredients;

  • 3lbs quartered and pitted plums
  • 1lb peeled, cored and chopped cooking apples
  • 4lbs jam sugar
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 pint of water

Put the plums, apple, lemon juice and water in a pan and gently simmer until the fruit becomes pulpy. Add in the jam sugar gradually, stirring all the while to ensure that the sugar dissolves quickly. The quicker the sugar dissolves, the clearer the jam will be. Then boil briskly until the setting point is reached. When you think the setting point may have been reached (it only took a few minutes for me) remove the pan from the heat (jam can spoil easily from over cooking) and put some of the jam on a cold saucer or plate. Leave for a minute then push it with your finger. If it wrinkles, it is ready.

Pot the jam into jars which have previously been sterilised by heating them in a low oven. If you put the jam in whilst still boiling hot you can put the lids on straight away. If not, wait for the jam to cool completely before putting on the lids to prevent condensation forming inside the jars which could lead to mould. Leave the jars until cold before labelling, then store in a cool, dark place.

Jars of jam make lovely presents for people, as friends and family generally really appreciate the trouble that you take over making something yourself for them.

I have a little tip for you as well. I bought a jam funnel for myself last year, when I made the grapple jam and also the mincemeat. It cost me at least £5, and this year I can’t find it anywhere. I managed to get the marmalade into the jars without it, although I did make quite a mess, but I really didn’t want the struggle with the jam as it was much runnier than the marmalade when it was potted. However, I had a used orange squash bottle in the kitchen and so, with the dextrous use of a pair of scissors I turned the top third of the bottle into a new funnel for myself. Woohoo for recycling!

I apologise for the picture of the used funnel, but I forgot to photograph it before I used it and I wanted to get this post up before I did the school run. Ingenious, huh!

4 Responses

  1. That’s a fab word. Glad you’re feeling happier. You still need to come here for a cuppa one morning, you know.

    Thank you! We took a poll (myself and the boys) and decided that plumple would be better than plapple!

    And I’d love to come for a cup of tea. Give me a couple of days to get over my cold (it’s lingering, and I’m not happy!) and then I would be delighted to accept your most kind invitation!

  2. Mmmm JAM!

    Looks yum! Compostman makes all our jam, I make the chutney and pickles….

    and yes of course you can link to my blog…I would be delighted 🙂

    My boys have all tasted a bit now and have expressed their approval! I’ve been out and bought some more jars today so that I can have a go at some of your chutney – husband was quite happy about that!

    I’ve posted the link in my sidebar now. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts, and hopefully being able to steal more of your recipes 😉

  3. How about Friday? Hopefully my Eglu will arrive, and I know how much experience you have of them!

    Hmm, have you been talking to Jo? If not you probably should – we spent most of the construction time giggling, because it was that or crying! However, I suppose I should add that this was in construction of the cube, not the eglu, which seemed to more or less come in one piece.

    If I’m better on Friday I’d love to come over! See you soon

  4. My chutney recipes are basically 500 – 600 ml vinegar, 20 g salt, 500 g sugar, assorted spices, 500 g onions and then 3 Kg of assorted fruit and/or veg.

    I find SOME fruit is best, even if its only 500 g apples and the rest veg…apples especially help to thicken the chutney…but I usually have 500g dried fruit as part of the 3 Kg of assorted stuff as we like them!

    I made an Autumn polytunnel harvest chutney a couple of years ago which was basically what was left in there…tomatos, peppers, aubergines, courgettes, to a total of 2.5 Kg, 500g apples and then the onions, sugar, vinegar salt, spices. It was YUM and we have just finished the last jar…I will have to make some more!

    I don’t know if it would be ok to leave out onions and use more of some other fruit and veg, but I guess it would be fine!

    As I only make chutney out of what we grow here ( except the raisins!) I make small quantities of experimental chutneys and play around with the ingredients!

    The River Cottage Preseres book is good, as is a Jill Nice Book I got , the Piers Warren storing and preserving your harvest book is very good as well..I use that a lot!

    Hope this is helpful, but don’t blame me if you don’t like what you make…… 😉

    I’ll have to talk to husband and see what sort of vegetables he’d like me to include. however, onions are likely to feature as I seem to remember that he had a jar of red onion and something chutney last year which he enjoyed very much. Thanks for the guidance – I look forward to feeling well enough to make some!

Leave a Reply

