Being glad about the rain

Along the lines of a post which I wrote not so long ago about being more positive about things outside my control, I thought that I should really get myself in a better frame of mind about the wet weather which is, by all accounts returning for a good long stay this week.

Hmm, this is going to be a tricky one. I think I’m going to have to think ‘deeper’ glad thoughts. I’m glad that

  1. I don’t have to worry about drought
  2. I don’t need to walk three miles to get water for my children to drink
  3. I can easily collect enough water outside to water my garden on the odd days that the rain holds off!
  4. Enough rain falls to ensure that I live in a ‘green and pleasant place’
  5. I’ve never had to worry about flooding around my home (touch wood, touch wood, touch wood, spit and turn round three times!)
  6. It’s raining clean water
  7. Rain clouds make it a bit warmer in the winter than when we have clear skies
  8. We get enough rain to keep the rivers, lakes and reservoirs topped up for all the fish and other aquatic wildlife to be happy
  9. I have enough money to be able to afford weatherproof clothes and boots

OK, I started scraping the barrel by the end of that list! Does anyone have any ideas to add?

2 Responses

  1. Imagine what it would be like if you had to chase piglets round a field in baking hot sunshine…!

    hmm, it’s too close after the event to make jokes about that yet. Grrr.

  2. Erm, Fergie loves you?!

Leave a Reply

