I got a fake one!

A while ago, I read about the number of fake £1 coins in circulation, but I hadn’t seen one myself. When we went shopping to Tesco earlier in the week, Hubby gave me a £1 coin to get a trolley. However, when I tried to use it, it didn’t fit. I’d found my first fake coin!

The fake one is on the left. The engraving has become very indistinct, and the edge is a little wobbly.

From the front it’s harder to tell which is real, although again the fake is on the left and the engraving has become a little blurred. They look to me to be the same size and weight, so I’m puzzled as to why it didn’t fit in the trolley coin slot.

The side of the coin though is the real giveaway. The writing is indistinct, the font is wrong (it almost looks italicised) and the letters are even wearing away in places. What it reminded me of more than anything was a plastic toy with the paint chipping off.

So, apparently I have to hand my fake £1 coin into the police station. I wonder if they’ll care about it when I take it there, or if I’ll just get a funny look. There’s a nice little trip for me to look forward to next week!

3 Responses

  1. I think both my mum and dad would tell you not to bother to hand it in, just use it in the shop. Mum works for a post office and dad used to work for a bank, they’ve known about fake coins for years.

    I don’t know, I think I’d feel a bit guilty using it now that I know it’s fake! Jo suggested that I should drill a hole into it and make it into a really cheesy chavvy (mini) medallion!

  2. You could try. One of mum’s customers was worrying about fake coins, she was told by mum’s colleague that if she found any to give them to her and she’d try them in the one armed bandit!

  3. What a neat find. I like the idea of turning it into a mini medallion.

Leave a Reply

