NaNoWriMo 2008

Now that we’re into October, I need to start thinking about whether I want to take part in NaNoWriMo next month. I intended and wanted to last year, but unfortunately my idea didn’t get off the ground and so I didn’t get past the first couple of days. So this year I have a couple of ideas, one a light hearted novel and the other is the historical novel I planned to write last year. If I choose the latter one, I need to make sure that I plan it a lot better than I did last year. Hmm. Decisions!

It’s the tenth anniversary of NaNoWriMo this year, so it would be a great year in which to take part. I’d like to think that I could do it, although I think that I’d lower my goal to simply finishing the 50,000 words required, rather than going for the limit like I did in 2006. I reached 163,185 words then, which involved long days (and nights) of writing, including two sequels to the original book I planned, which came to a natural end after 79,000 words!

One Response

  1. I’ve never heard of NaNoWriMo – I need to google it to see what it means! I figured out the Writing Month part… 🙂

    Sorry! I meant to link to a previous post which explained it – all my fault! It stands for National (although it’s international now) Novel Writing Month, and is a frenzied attempt on the part of millions of aspiring novelists to turn out a 50,000 word novelette in the month of November. You may plan it in advance, but may not start writing until 1st November at 00.01. I did it a couple of years ago because I had an idea for a book which had been bouncing around my head for a while (never good enough to publish, but needed to be put down on paper) and had a brilliant month devoting absolutely every spare minute (and a few that weren’t spare too!) to getting down as many words as I could manage. The emphasis during November was quantity rather than quality, with the idea being that you can edit in December etc if you really want to, but not to waste valuable writing time worrying about it in November! As an added incentive (and I don’t know whether this happens every year) Lulu.com offered a free printed and bound copy of their book to everyone who wrote more than 50,000 words during the month of November. I wish I’d taken them up on that offer, but I thought I was going to edit my manuscript and so didn’t get round to submitting it.

    Well, after this long comment, if you’ve stuck with me the website is http://www.nanowrimo.org, and they will obviously be able to explain it all so much better than I can!

Leave a Reply

