Doodle a day 2 (16.09.08)

I have gone back to basics today with my doodle. Yesterday I drew my two pictures with trees because that is the sort of picture which I’d really like to be able to draw. I’m more interested in landscapes than portraits and still lifes.

Anyway, I have borrowed a book on drawing from my father called “The Complete Guide to Drawing and Illustration; A Practical and Inspirational Course for Artists of All Abilities” by Peter Gray. It has courses for absolute beginners like me, so I literally started from scratch today with drawing wavy lines and circles. And then, I did an exercise out of the book where you have to draw thirty to forty simple, childlike images. The simple and childlike appeals to me and so I found this quite easy to think about!

The idea is to just draw whatever simple images come into your head. I think that most are recogniseable, although obviously I have problems drawing circles!

I’m not reading on in the book otherwise I’ll be tempted to do the next five exercises all at once and I’ll bore myself out of wanting to do Doodle a Day.

Oh, and so far, to my knowledge, Just Williams, Welshpurpletree, Velochick and Jo at Bring Me Sunshine are taking part in this with me, although some are waiting a little while to start. So go over and give them some encouragement!

5 Responses

  1. Good way to get the imagination stirred up. I think we sometimes lose touch with our inner child.

  2. This is neat to watch. I can’t wait to see how it progresses. Very boldly going after something you want is encouraging to see. Keep it up!

  3. That’s great, I love drawing as well I just don’t have any formal training but I think with a class or two I could have some potential πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  4. By the way, I do doodle every day, Guenna would not let me get through a day without drawing her a picture of a girl! πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you for the encouraging comments!

    @pastelpages – I think my main problem is putting my inner child away sometimes! But seriously, the book which I’m following for my basic tuition is really good, and really seems to understand that all that some of us can contemplate drawing at first is the stick men and boxy houses of our childhood!

    @Mike – I don’t feel bold, just talentless and a bit daft right now, but this is an experiment and I hope to prove myself wrong by mid-October. And thank you for your kind words of encouragement – if you have any more they’d be gratefully received! And tips are always good!

    @Jenni – You should join in with us here and post your pictures of girls for Guenna – give yourself a few minutes a day to relax while you’re waiting for Burns #5 to make an appearance!

Leave a Reply

