Parc Cefn Onn

Yesterday we took advantage of my husband finishing work early and headed off for a nice long walk. We went to Cefn Onn Park in the north of Cardiff. We’ve not been there for a while, so it was nice to get reacquainted!

I have lovely memories of my first visit to Cefn Onn Park. My older son was only a few weeks old, and it was bank holiday weekend. My husband’s parents were visiting for the weekend. I was feeling particularly ‘cabin bound’ as we didn’t then have a car and so we didn’t get to go to many places further than a mile or two away, unless they were on a direct bus route. My husband (bless his cotton socks!) asked his parents if they would take us out for a short trip so that I could shake off some of my fidgets, and so they suggested Cefn Onn Park. I remember a lovely walk through the woodland on a warm early summer day, and a long sit down on a bench at the top of the park where we all admired my lovely baby’s smile on that sunny day!

This time our visit was memorable for different reasons. Both our sons are now old enough to manage medium length and intensity walks and they both enjoyed rushing around the woods in the park. They are beginning to love opportunities to explore, and were taking on roles from their favourite Indiana Jones film to act out as they rushed around. It seemed to be the first day in months (maybe a slight exaggeration) when the rain stopped for more than fifteen minutes together. We threw our wellies on and had a great time! I’m really looking forward to going back soon. I’ve already had a request to take a picnic there from my younger son, so the place obviously went down well with them too.

Leave a Reply

